Library

Fairfax County, Virginia

CONTACT INFORMATION: Office: 8:30–4:30 M–F. Branch hours vary.

703-324-3100
TTY 711

12000 Government Center Parkway, Suite 324
Fairfax, VA 22035

Jessica Hudson,
Director

Digital Book Club “Big Library Read” Starts June 17

 

Wartime novel A Dangerous Act of Kindness available as eBook for two weeks with no wait list or holds

Big Library Read

Digital Book Club “Big Library Read” Starts June 17

Join fellow readers in Fairfax County and globally for Big Library Read, the world’s largest digital book club. Download this summer’s selected book anytime June 17 through July 1 to start reading, then take part in online discussions with other participating readers.

What’s a Digital Book Club?

The Big Library Read digital book club is an international reading program that connects millions of readers around the world simultaneously with an eBook or audiobook through the library.

How do I Participate?

Readers can take part in the two-week program by downloading A Dangerous Act of Kindness by LP Fergusson from the library's OverDrive page. Enjoy it as an eBook or eAudiobook with no wait lists or holds from June 17-July 1. Then join an online discussion about the book at BigLibraryRead.com.

When is the Book Club?

Between June 17 and July 1, Fairfax County Public Library users will be able to borrow a digital version of LP Fergusson’s A Dangerous Act of Kindness—no waitlist!

What is A Dangerous Act of Kindness About?

What would you risk for a complete stranger? When widow Millie Sanger finds injured enemy pilot Lukas Schiller on her farm during World War II, the distant war is suddenly at her doorstep. Compassionate Millie knows he’ll be killed if discovered and makes the dangerous decision to offer him shelter from the storm.

On opposite sides of the inescapable conflict, the two strangers forge an unexpected and passionate bond. But as the snow thaws, the relentless fury of World War II forces them apart, leaving only the haunting memories of what they shared, and an understanding that their secret must never see light.

As Millie’s dangerous act of kindness sets them on paths they never could have expected, those closest to them become their greatest threats, and the consequences of compassion prove deadly.

A Dangerous Act of Kindness is a beautiful, harrowing love story, perfect for fans of Rachel Hore and Santa Montefiore. Named Highly Commended in the Caledonia Novel Award 2018, it was chosen by a popular vote of readers and librarians worldwide to be the next Big Library Read.

What Type of Device is Needed?

A Dangerous Act of Kindness can be read and listened to on all major computers and devices, including iPhone®, iPad®, Android™ phones and tablets, Chromebook™ and Kindle® without worrying about waitlists or holds. The title will automatically expire at the end of the lending period, and there are no late fees.

What if I Don’t Have a Library Card?

No library card? No problem. Sign up for a card through the library’s website or visit any Fairfax County Public Library branch. (Identification and proof of address required. For more information visit the Account Services page.)