Inaugurating the Next Government

Jan. 1 ushers in a new calendar year and new terms of office for our Board of Supervisors, constitutional officers and Soil and Water Conservation District directors.

On Tuesday, an inauguration ceremony was held at the Government Center for these local officials, who will guide the county for the next four years. Fairfax County Circuit Court Judge Penney Azcarate administered the oath of office to Board of Supervisors Chairman Sharon Bulova and 15 other elected officials:



Board of Supervisors

All residents have two supervisors: the chairman and a district supervisor. Here’s the list of supervisors beginning Jan. 1:

  • Braddock District — John C. Cook
  • Dranesville District — John W. Foust
  • Hunter Mill District — Catherine M. Hudgins
  • Lee District — Jeff C. McKay
  • Mason District — Penelope A. Gross
  • Mount Vernon District — Daniel G. Storck
  • Providence District — Linda Q. Smyth
  • Springfield District — Pat Herrity
  • Sully District — Kathy L. Smith
Find Your Supervisor District


Constitutional Officers

Northern Virginia Soil and Water Conservation District Directors

share point label

Read previous post:
Graph showing county provides more than 70 percent of FCPS funding.
4 Reasons FCPS Needs More State Education Funding

It is well documented that our Fairfax County Public Schools need more funding. And we're not alone. According to a recent...