

FCPA Camps Frequently Asked Questions

When does camp registration begin?

• 2024 camp registration begins Jan. 23, 2024

What is the tax ID number for tax purposes/flexible spending reimbursements?

• The tax ID number is 54-0787833. This number may be required for tax purposes and/or employer flexible spending reimbursements. Please check with your employer or tax advisor for qualifying programs.

Do you provide scholarships for camps?

• There are no scholarships for camps. However, our summer **Rec-PAC** offers partial scholarships.

I do not live in Fairfax County, can my child enroll in your camps?

• We gladly welcome out-of-county residents to enroll children in our camps. There is a \$15 out-of-county fee added on to the price of camp.

What is your refund and transfer policy for camps?

- All **refunds and transfers** MUST be requested at least **14 days prior to the camp** session from which you are withdrawing. All approved refunds will incur a \$25 processing fee; there is no fee for approved transfers outside of the 14 days.
- Transfers may only be made from one camp to another camp; not from a camp to a class or Rec-PAC.
- Refunds and transfers are NOT permitted without 14 days' notice. Within 13 days of the start of camp, refunds are only given if the child has a medical emergency and a doctor's written verification is submitted **BEFORE** the camp begins.
- If a camper cannot finish camp once it begins due to a medical condition, a doctor's note is required within 24 hours for a pro-rated refund. Requests received after the camp session ends will not be granted.
- There are no refunds for missed days due to changed work or vacation schedules, sick days or other non-emergency reasons.

What if my child completed kindergarten, but he/she is not yet 6 years old?

• In most cases, we cannot go by the grade level of the child, just the actual numerical age. However, in some cases, an exception to the age can be made if the child is turning six years old close to the start of camp or during the camp. The best way to inquire is to email the camps office at camps@fairfaxcounty.gov.

What forms will my child need on the first day?

pg. 1 Rev 10/23

- Complete camp forms which are included in the <u>Camp Parent Handbook</u>.
 Make multiple copies as you will need to submit a set of forms each week upon arrival at camp.
- Don't forget to include yourself on the Pick-Up Authorization as an individual authorized to sign your child out.
- For your child's safety, parents must sign campers in and out each day. An I.D. is required at pick-up. Please make sure your child's authorized individuals are aware of this requirement.
- Should your child need medication administered at camp, you must complete the Medication Authorization Form.

How do I know which camps are licensed by the Virginia Department of Social Services and require additional paperwork?

• Please see our <u>Licensed Camp Additional Requirements</u> for the most updated information. Camps licensed by the Virginia Department of Social Services, require additional paperwork including an immunization record and, in some cases, a physical form (copies accepted). In addition, VA law requires proof of child's identity be shown upon arrival at licensed camps. Proof of identity may be a certified copy of a child's birth certificate, a birth registration card, a passport, a copy of placement agreement, or a VA public school report card.

Who are the counselors and what are their qualifications?

Some counselors are teachers who work during the summer in camps. Many are
college students majoring in education or recreation. All staff are at least 18 years
old, first aid and CPR certified, pass through reference and national criminal
background checks and are vetted through Child Protective Services Central
Registry.

How are children grouped; what is the ratio?

• Most camps group children by age. Check with the site programmer. Most of our camps maintain a 1:10 to 1:12 ratio for school-age children and 1:8 or 1:10 for preschool age children.

Where do I take my child on the first day of camp?

 Once you get to the camp location, there are usually signs instructing you where to go. You may also receive information in an email before camp begins with further details.

Will camps operate on inclement weather and code red days?

• Camps will operate on code red days. Campers engage in outdoor activities during the day and are given plenty of water and shade breaks. Most camps will operate on inclement weather days as well. When substantial rain is expected, some outdoor camps may be canceled for the day. Please contact your camp director for more information. Weather information can also be obtained at: https://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/parks/weather-closures

Does my child's camp include swim time if it is held at a Rec Center?

• Some Rec Center camps may include a swim break. However, not all camps offer swim time. Pool use depends on scheduled closures for maintenance as well as other circumstances that require the pool to close.

pg. 2

What is Extended Care?

• Extended Care is supervised care before and/or after camp from 8:00 a.m.to 9:00 a.m. and/or 4:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m. for those children attending full-day camps at that location. Sites offering this service vary. Check out the camp webpage for details and to register. Advance registration is recommended. Space is limited.

Who should I talk to for more site-specific info?

• For site specific information, contact the program director for that particular camp location or email our camp office at camps@fairfaxcounty.gov.

What is the difference between Rec-PAC and Summer Camps?

- Rec-PAC is a six-week program held at approximately 35 elementary schools throughout the county. Rec-PAC offers a theme-based program. More information will be coming out in April through flyers at the schools and on our website. The Rec-PAC office will be open after May 1: Contact 703-324-5514.
- Camps- Spring Break, Teacher Workday, Summer Camps and Winter Break
 Camps are various programs held at rec centers, lakefront parks, nature centers,
 historic sites, golf courses, some schools and at certain business locations when
 school is out. There are all types of camps offered throughout the county, both
 half-day and full-day offerings as well as some one-day and two-day workshops.
 See our website or Parktakes for a complete listing.

Are lunches/snacks provided?

• Lunches and snacks must be brought from home. Most sites do not have refrigeration, so non-perishable snacks and lunches are needed. Drink and snack machines are available at some sites, but parents must make these purchases before camp. We suggest packing your child's snack, water and lunch in a cooler for outdoor camps.

What camps or accommodations do you provide for children with special needs?

- We welcome campers of all abilities, and have a team dedicated to access and inclusion. If your camper may need accommodation, or for more information, please visit: Recreation Services for Customers with Disabilities.
- The Fairfax County Department of Neighborhood and Community Services 703-324-5532 offers specialized programs for people with disabilities.



pg. 3