MINUTES OF FAIRFAX COUNTY PLANNING COMMISSION WEDNESDAY, MARCH 10, 2021

PRESENT: Peter F. Murphy, Chairman, Springfield District

John C. Ulfelder, Vice Chairman, Dranesville District Timothy J. Sargeant, Secretary, Commissioner At-Large Julie M. Strandlie, Parliamentarian, Mason District

Mary D. Cortina, Braddock District John A. Carter, Hunter Mill District Daniel G. Lagana, Lee District

Walter C. Clarke, Mount Vernon District

Evelyn S. Spain, Sully District

Candice Bennett, Commissioner At-Large Andres Jimenez, Commissioner At-Large

ABSENT: Phillip A. Niedzielski-Eichner, Providence District

11

The Planning Commission conducted a wholly electronic meeting using Fairfax County's videoconferencing system because the COVID-19 pandemic made it unsafe to physically assemble a quorum in one location or have the public present. The meeting was accessible to the public via Channel 16, live online video stream, and live audio. Testimony from the public could be provided through a phone call, recorded video, or submission of written testimony by mail or electronic means.

//

The meeting was called to order at 7:30 p.m., by Chairman Peter F. Murphy.

The attending Commissioners attended the meeting from the following locations:

- Murphy Peter F. Murphy participated from Conference Room 11 of the Fairfax County Government Center, 12000 Government Center Parkway, Fairfax, Virginia 22035;
- John C. Ulfelder participated from the Dranesville District office, 397 Herndon Pkwy, Suite 110, Herndon, VA 20170;
- Timothy J. Sargeant participated from the Mount Vernon District office, 2511 Parkers Lane, Mt. Vernon, VA 22306;
- Julie M. Strandlie participated from the Mason District office, 6507 Columbia Pike, Annandale, VA 22003;
- Mary D. Cortina participated from the Braddock District office, 9002 Burke Lake Road, Burke, VA 22015;

- John A. Carter participated from the Hunter Mill District office, 1801 Cameron Glen Drive, Reston, VA 20190;
- Daniel G. Lagana participated from the Lee District office, 6121 Franconia Road, Alexandria, VA 22310. Commissioner Lagana was not present for the vote;
- Walter C. Clarke participated from the Mount Vernon District office, 2511 Parkers Lane, Mt. Vernon, VA 22306;
- Evelyn S. Spain participated from the Sully District office, 4900 Stonecroft Boulevard, Chantilly, VA 20151;
- Andres Jimenez participated from his residence; and
- Candice Bennett participated from the Lee District office, 6121 Franconia Road, Alexandria, VA 22310.

Upon verifying the attendance of each Commissioner from their respective location, the meeting proceeded with Commission matters.

11

COMMISSION MATTERS

Chairman Murphy relinquished duties of the virtual Chair and the virtual gavel to Vice Chairman Ulfelder.

//

PRELIMINARY MOTIONS FOR CONDUCTING ELECTRONIC MEETING

Commissioner Murphy MOVED THE FOLLOWING:

- THE PLANNING COMMISSION CERTIFY FOR THE RECORD THAT EACH MEMBER'S VOICE MAY BE ADEQUATELY HEARD BY EACH OTHER MEMBER OF THIS COMMISSION;
- THE PLANNING COMMISSION CERTIFY THAT THE STATE OF EMERGENCY CAUSED BY THE COVID-19 PANDEMIC, MAKES IT UNSAFE FOR THE PLANNING COMMISSION TO PHYSICALLY ASSEMBLE AND UNSAFE FOR APPLICANTS, STAFF, AND THE PUBLIC TO PHYSICALLY ATTEND ANY SUCH MEETING IN PERSON. AND THAT AS SUCH, AN IN-PERSON MEETING CANNOT BE IMPLEMENTED SAFELY OR PRACTICALLY;

- THE PLANNING COMMISSION CONDUCT THIS MEETING ELECTRONICALLY
 THROUGH THE COUNTY'S VIDEO CONFERENCING SYSTEM AND THAT THE
 PUBLIC MAY ACCESS THIS MEETING BY WATCHING CHANNEL 16, OR ITS
 LIVE STREAM, MAY LISTENING TO LIVE AUDIO OF THIS MEETING AT 703324-5300, AND MAY PARTICIPATE IN PUBLIC HEARINGS BY TELEPHONE, BY
 YOUTUBE, BY VIDEO SUBMISSION, OR BY WITTEN TESTIMONY; AND
- THE PLANNING COMMISSION CERTIFY THAT ALL MATTERS ADDRESSED ON TODAY'S AGENDA CONCERNING THE EMERGENCY ITSELF AND ARE NECESSARY FOR THE CONTINUITY IN FAIRFAX COUNTY GOVERNMENT UNDER THE ORDINANCE ADOPTED BY THE BOARD OF SUPERVISORS ON MAY 12, 2020, AND OR ARE WITHIN THE PREVUE OF AMENDMENT 28 TO HOUSE BILL 29, AS APPROVED BY THE GOVERNOR OF VIRGINIA ON APRIL 24, 2020.

Commissioner Sargeant seconded the motions, which carried by a vote of 11-0. Commissioner Niedzielski-Eichner was absent from the meeting.

11

Chairman Murphy resumed the duties of the virtual Chair and the virtual gavel.

//

Commissioner Sargeant announced the Capital Improvement Program (CIP) Committee's Workshop would be held virtually on Thursday, March 11, 2021, at 7:00 p.m. The meeting was accessible to the public via Channel 16, live online video stream, and live audio. Testimony from the public could be provided via phone, submitting recorded video through YouTube, or submission of written testimony by mail or electronic means.

11

ORDER OF THE AGENDA

Secretary Sargeant established the following order of the agenda:

 CSP 2016-HM-007 - ONE RESTON CO. LLC, TWO RESTON CO. LLC, & BOP RESTON F LLC

This order was accepted without objection.

11

CSP 2016-HM-007 - ONE RESTON CO. LLC, TWO RESTON CO. LLC, & BOP RESTON F LLC, - Appl. under Sect(s). 12-304 of the Zoning Ordinance for approval of a Comprehensive Sign Plan associated with RZ 2016-HM-007. Located in the N.W. quadrant of the intersection of Reston Pkwy. and Sunrise Valley

Dr. on approx. 35.8 ac. of land zoned PDC. Tax Map 17-3 ((8)) 1C1, 1C2, 1C3 and 1C4. HUNTER MILL DISTRICT. PUBLIC HEARING.

There were no disclosures by Commission members.

Commissioner Carter asked that Chairman Murphy ascertain whether there were any speakers for this application. There being none, he asked that presentations by staff and the applicant be waived, and the public hearing closed. No objections were expressed; therefore, Chairman Murphy closed the public hearing and recognized Commissioner Carter for action on this case.

11

Commissioner Carter MOVED THAT THE PLANNING COMMISSION APPROVE CSP 2016-HM-007, SUBJECT TO THE DEVELOPMENT CONDITIONS DATED MARCH 4, 2021.

Commissioner Sargeant seconded the motion, which carried by a vote of 11-0. Commissioner Niedzielski-Eichner was absent from the meeting.

//

The meeting was adjourned at 7:40 p.m. Peter F. Murphy, Chairman Timothy J. Sargeant, Secretary

Audio and video recordings of this meeting are available at the Planning Commission Office, 12000 Government Center Parkway, Suite 552, Fairfax, VA 22035.

Minutes by: Samantha Lawrence

Approved on: September 29, 2021

Jacob Capocaletti

Jacob L. Caporaletti, Clerk to the Fairfax County Planning Commission

Notary Seal

County of Fairfax Commonwealth of Virginia

The foregoing instrument was acknowledged before me this 12 day of October 20 21, by Jacob Caporaletti.

Signature of Notary

Notary registration number: 7114113

Commission expiration: January 31, 2029