

County of Fairfax, Virginia

To protect and enrich the quality of life for the people, neighborhoods and diverse communities of Fairfax County

May 2019

Dear Commercial Cash Customer:

Fairfax County operates a program that allows commercial companies to dispose of waste generated as part of their business and to pay by cash, check or credit card at the time of disposal. Credit cards will not be honored if the card bears someone else's name. These companies do not have to post a surety bond and are not billed monthly by the County. A valid insurance card and registration is required.

If you wish to participate in the Commercial Cash Program, complete, sign and bring the enclosed application form and signed rules and regulations to either address below:

Complex Locations

(Office Hours are Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.)

I-66 Transfer Station Complex
Permit Office
4618 West Ox Road

Fairfax, Virginia 22030

I-95 Landfill Complex Admin Office 9850 Furnace Road Lorton, Virginia 22079

Fees

The Commercial Cash disposal fees for municipal solid waste at Fairfax County Solid Waste Management Program Disposal Complexes are attached.

A fee must be paid for every Commercial Cash load that is disposed. The minimum fee is \$17 per load for any material disposed. All materials, including recyclables such as metal and cardboard, will be charged at applicable rates.

Failure to Return to Scales for Weight Sale

Weighing is a two-step process. If you have a tare weight, previously established and valid for one year for the vehicle, you may pay your disposal bill upon entering at the scale. If you do not have a tare weight for the vehicle, you must return to the scales for an empty weight and pay your disposal bill. FAILURE TO RETURN TO THE SCALES AND PAY YOUR DISPOSAL BILL AUTHORIZES FAIRFAX COUNTY TO ESTIMATE THE EMPTY WEIGHT BASED ON THE TYPE OF PERMITTED VEHICLE. All disposal charges, whether based on actual weight or estimated weight, must be paid at the time of disposal or a penalty fee of \$50 will be added. If the invoice is received by the customer and not paid after 30 days, a penalty for late payment of \$10 or 10 percent of the total amount owed will be added, plus interest. If the invoice remains unpaid, the invoiced amount will be sent to a collection agency and could result in an entry on your credit record.





Must have CC Permit in Vehicle

In order to have access to the Recycling and Disposal Centers, you must have your commercial cash permit (pink card) with the corresponding vehicle **every time** you make a disposal. No disposals will be allowed without the permit. Each vehicle you use to dispose must have its own CC permit card. Additional cards for added vehicles can be obtained at the Permit or Admin Offices listed above.

Tare of Vehicle(s)

You can tare or re-tare a vehicle(s) at any time the vehicle comes to a disposal complex. If you have a tare weight in the system, it must be verified annually. Having a tare weight allows you to pay your bill when you weigh in, saving a trip back to the scales to pay.

Lost Permits

If you lose your permit, there is a \$30 replacement fee for the new permit. If there are repeated losses of the permit, your company may not be allowed to continue in the commercial cash program.

Returned Checks

Returned checks may immediately result in removal from the Commercial Cash Program. Alternate payment arrangements (cash or credit card) will need to be made before access to any Fairfax County disposal complex is granted. A charge of \$50 is assessed for each returned check and must be paid before you can continue in the program.

Cardboard Recycling

All companies are required to recycle cardboard. Commercial Cash companies must pay to dispose of cardboard, yard waste, and metal. Cardboard can be recycled by placing the material in the designated containers at either disposal location. Companies are encouraged to recycle plastic bottles, newspaper, yard waste and other materials.

Complex Rules and Regulations

Please read, sign and return a copy of the attached Complex Rules and Regulations with your application. Any violation of these rules may result in a penalty fee or suspension from using County disposal complexes.

Safety

Please drive safely when at County disposal sites. Also, remind your drivers not to talk on cell phones while operating at County disposal sites and to obey the directions of County staff. Safety vests with reflective material or clothing with reflective markings (orange or yellow) must be worn by employees who get out of their vehicles while at a disposal site. This is a safety requirement to ensure that workers are seen by others at the complex.

"All Commercial Cash Customers to keep a distance of 15ft at a minimum from equipment while in or out of vehicles"

FY 2020 Commercial Cash Permit Package Page 3 of 8

Scavenging

Scavenging is the unauthorized or uncontrolled removal of waste materials from a solid waste management complex. Scavenging is strictly prohibited at any location under any circumstances. Violations of this policy can result in permanent termination of your commercial cash permit.

Changes to Company Information

Companies must keep the County informed of changes to important information in the application such as name, address, company representatives, and vehicle information. **FOR EXAMPLE: VEHICLE LICENSE TAG INFORMATION.**

Applicant's signature affirms his/her understanding of these requirements and that the applicant is an authorized representative of the business.

If there are any questions regarding these procedures, please contact either the Permit Office at the I-66 Transfer Station Complex, 703-631-0495 or the Admin Office at the I-95 Landfill Complex at 703-690-1703.

Sincerely,

Dynita L. Glenn Recycling, Compliance, and Planning Solid Waste Management Program

Document111

Attachments: As stated

County of Fairfax Application for Commercial Cash Permit (Revised May, 2019)

			Office U	Jse Only		
		Account Nu	mber:			
		Date Permit	Issued:			
1. Name of Comp	any:					
2. Owner(s):						
3. Authorized Age						
4. Photocopy of D	river Licens	se for Owner	Authorized A	agent Attached?	Yes 🗆	No 🗆
5. Type of Busine	ss:					
6. Business Locat	ion Address:	:				
City:			State:		_Zip Code: _	
7. Mailing Address	ss:					
City:			State:		_ Zip Code: _	
8. E-mail Address	:					
9. Business Phone	Number:			Cell Phone N	lumber:	
10. Valid Vehicle Proof of vehic		,	copies of vehi Yes □	cle registrations): No \Box		
	Appli	cant Must C	omplete		County Staf	ff Will Complete
Vehicle	Year	Make	Type	License #	Permit #	Tare Weight

1 2 3 Trailer 1 Trailer 2

Commercial Cash Permit Application Page 5 of 8

Applicant is applying for a Commercial Cash permit to dispose of solid waste at Fairfax County disposal complexes. The solid waste must be generated during the routine operations of the business only.

Applicant agrees to comply with the current rules and regulations of Fairfax County disposal complexes, the Commercial Cash Account Permit rules contained in the Permit Manual, State Solid Waste Regulations, and as set forth in the Code of the County of Fairfax concerning disposal of solid waste. A current copy of the current program rules and complex rules and regulations are available on the County's website at: https://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/publicworks/sites/publicworks/files/Assets/Documents/PDF/publications/appdisposalpermit.pdf. Applicant agrees to pay all disposal charges accrued through use of the Fairfax County disposal complexes. IF A DRIVER FAILS TO RETURN TO THE SCALES FOR AN EMPTY WEIGHT, APPLICANT AUTHORIZES FAIRFAX COUNTY TO ESTIMATE THE EMPTY WEIGHT BASED ON THE TYPE OF VEHICLE LISTED ABOVE. APPLICANT AGREES TO PAY ALL DISPOSAL CHARGES, WHETHER BASED ON ACTUAL WEIGHT OR ESTIMATED WEIGHT, AND APPLICANT AGREES TO PAY A PENALTY OF \$50. If company fails to pay by the due date on any invoice, an additional penalty for late payment fee of 10% or \$10, whichever is greater, will be assessed to the account and interest of 10% annually will also be added. Applicant agrees not to scavenge any materials from the disposal sites.

APPLICANT UNDERSTANDS AND AGREES THAT ALL INFECTIOUS, EXPLOSIVE, POISONOUS, CAUSTIC, TOXIC CHEMICAL AND HAZARDOUS WASTE ARE PROHIBITED FROM THE I-66 TRANSFER STATION COMPLEX, I-95 LANDFILL COMPLEX AND THE I-95 ENERGY/RESOURCE RECOVERY FACILITY, WHICH INCLUDES ALL DISPOSAL COMPLEXES.

Applicant acknowledges that the Complex Manager may restrict the time, location or type of material that may be disposed at the Manager's sole discretion, based on operational considerations.

Applicant's signature acknowledges his/her understand representative of the business.	ding of these requirements. Applicant is an authorized
Signature	Date
Printed Name	

County of Fairfax Commercial Cash Program Rules and Regulations

(Effective May 2018)

- 1. The Commercial Cash Permit allows a company to pay with cash, business or personal check, or credit card. Credit cards will not be honored bearing someone else's name.
- 2. Every load disposed must be paid for. There is **no free disposal**. All recyclable materials, including cardboard, metal, and yard waste, are recycled but payment for disposal is required.
- 3. The Commercial Cash (CC) customer applies for the account once, and, if the company continues to use the program at least once every two years, the account remains active. Every vehicle using the account must have its own vehicle permit, but there is only one account permit number.
- 4. Permit numbers cannot be "exchanged" among vehicles. Vehicles and trailers may be interchanged since identifying information for each piece is recorded separately in LIS II.
- 5. Tare weights of vehicles/trailers expire annually and must be reestablished. If there is no tare weight in the system, customers must return to the scale to weigh out and pay for a weight sale.
- 6. CC customers must sign scale house tickets and write their **VALID** phone number acknowledging that there is a \$50 PENALTY FEE for any customer who drives off without paying the disposal charges. The estimated weight of the load will be based on the type of vehicle and that weight will be used to determine the disposal charge, plus the \$50 penalty. If after 30 days the invoice is not paid, a penalty for late payment of \$10 or 10 percent of the total amount owed will be added, plus interest will be assessed at the rate of 10 percent per annum. Should the invoice remain unpaid for 120 days, the amount may be referred to a collection agency. This could affect your personal credit score.
- 7. Collection action will be undertaken to obtain payment of disposal charges, returned checks, and other debts. Should a delinquent account be referred to a collection agency to collect an overdue amount, an administrative fee of \$30 will be charged.
- 8. If the company submits a check that is returned by the bank unpaid, the company will immediately be removed from the CC program by the Accounting Team until payment in cash or certified funds is made. The company will then be placed on a cash or credit card payment method only for six months for the first incident, 12 months for the second incident, and permanently for a third incident of a returned check..
- 9. A \$50 return check fee must be paid for each returned check.

- 10. If a company credit card is used for payment, the person presenting the card must be an authorized representative listed on the application.
- 11. The CC customer must notify the appropriate County disposal complex of changes to information in the application so that the LIS II system can be updated. Failure to keep the County informed could result in suspension from the program.
- 12. Trailers must have a sticker attached to the trailer in order for the weight of the trailer to be stored in the system. If no weight is stored, the customer will be required to weigh in and out with each visit. Trailers must be empty when tare weight is established. Permit card must contain a description of the trailer (for example, 10 feet long with 4 side rails or 6 feet with 2 added rails above trailer bed).
- 13. During the weigh-in process at the scales, the CC permit will be used to identify the account and specific company vehicle. A company will not be able to dispose if the permit card is not displayed to the Weighmaster.
- 14. Small loads of tires will be accepted through the CC program (under five [5] tons or larger amounts of tires by advanced authorization). All tires must be delivered to the I-95 Landfill Complex. No tire deliveries are accepted on Sundays. **Only cash or credit card will be accepted for payment of tire disposals.** If company business is located in Fairfax County, then a business check may be accepted.
- 15. CC vehicles must follow all complex rules and regulations; current versions are posted on the County's website. Violation of complex rules and/or regulations may incur penalties or result in removal from the program.
- 16. CC Customers must separate cardboard and metals for recycling and dispose of them in the proper location. Companies are encouraged to recycle other materials (cans, bottles, paper, metal) in the appropriate location. All recyclable materials are charged the disposal fee if brought to a County disposal complex.
- 17. CC customers must have their waste completely unloaded or removed from their vehicle by the closing time of the complex.
- 18. All Commercial Cash Customers to keep a distance of 15ft at a minimum from equipment while in or out of vehicles.
- 19. In the event of an uncontrollable circumstance, the County reserves the right to not accept waste deliveries, or to redirect waste deliveries to an alternate disposal location.
- 20. Customers may not use cell phones while at the disposal complexes unless it is an emergency.
- 21. If a CC customer must replace a lost vehicle permit, the charge will be \$30.

Commercial Cash Permit Application Page 8 of 8

- 22. CC customers pay a minimum fee of \$17 for each visit to the RDC.
- 23. Flat fees can be charged and are based upon estimated weights for various material types or vehicle types. If authorized by the Weighmaster, these fees will be paid at the scale house upon entering the RDC. If a CC customer wishes to weigh, the customer will pay the minimum fee of \$17 or whatever higher amount is based upon the actual tons weighed.
- 24. If loads are large, the vehicles will only be allowed to dispose at the discretion of the Complex Manager.
- 25. CC Customers agree not to scavenge at County disposal sites.

I acknowledge I have read and	will abide by the rules	s while participating i	in the Commercial
Cash Permit Program.			

Signature of Authorized Representative	Date
Type or Print Name	