Redistricting Advisory Committee Meeting #16 Minutes

January 25th, 2022, 6:00-8:00 PM, Virtual

PRESENT:

Paul Berry, At-Large, Chairman

Lisa Sales, At-Large

James Bierman, Dranesville District

Richard Chew, Hunter Mill District

Gerald "Gerry" Hyland, Mount Vernon District

Denver Supinger, Providence District

Saif Rahman, Arab American Community Representative

George Becerra, Northern Virginia Labor Federation Representative

William Bouie, At-Large

Samuel Walker, Sully District

Alis Wang, Mason District

Candace Butler, League of Women Voters Representative

Prashanth Rajan, Braddock District

Coretta Perkins, African American Community Representative

Tim Thompson, Federation of Citizens Associations Representative

Scott Price, Northern Virginia Chamber of Commerce Representative

Bryon Garner, Lee District

Rafael Marin, Hispanic Community Representative

ABSENT:

Jenee Lindner, Springfield District

Chairman Paul Berry called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. via Teams Meeting.

//

Chair Berry read the provided FOIA Script to establish the reasoning of why the Committee is meeting virtually and to ensure public access to the meeting. While reading the FOIA script Chairman Berry MOVED THAT ALL ATTENDEES OF THE MEETING COULD BE HEARD. The motion was seconded by Representative Rahman. The motion passed unanimously.

Following the script, Chair Berry MOVED THAT THE COVID 19 PANDEMIC MAKES IT UNSAFE FOR THE COMMITTEE TO ASSEMBLE IN PERSON. The motion was seconded by Representative Hyland. The motion passed unanimously.

Chair Berry ALSO MOVED THAT ALL MATTERS ADDRESSED BY THE EVENING'S MEETING WERE DIRECTLY RELATED TO THE CHARGE OF THE COMMITTEE. The motion was seconded by Representative Chew. The motion passed unanimously.

//

Chairman Berry presented the meeting's agenda Representative Sales MOVED THAT THE AGENDA BE APPROVED. The motion was seconded by Representative Chew and passed unanimously.

//

Chairman Berry presented the draft minutes. Representative Chew MOVED FOR THE MINUTES TO BE APPROVED AS AMENDED. The motion was seconded by Representative Sales and passed unanimously.

//

Chairman Berry open the floor to the public for public comment. The following members of the public spoke: Frank Anderson, Katherine Ward, Ellen Young, Jim Martin, Queenie Cox, Leo Milanowski, Matt Bell, Pam Vanderburg, Richard Bruner and Karen Corbett Sandres.

All public speakers were heard, and the public comment section of the meeting closed at 6:48 PM.

//

Committee members went into their assigned workgroups and returned to the main room at 7:45 PM. Each workgroup reported on their discussions. No motions were made.

//

Chair formally canceled Thursday meeting to allow folks to research their workgroups Districts and/or precincts.

Chair Berry MOVED THAT THE MEETING BE ADJOURNED AS OF 8:00 P.M. Representative Wang seconded the motion. The motion was unanimously agreed upon.