FAIRFAX COUNTY PARK AUTHORITY

Central Services 12055 Government Center Parkway, Suite 927 • Fairfax, VA 22035-5500 703-324-8700 • Fax: 703-324-3974 •

FAQ: What do I need to do to have alcohol at a Fairfax County Park Authority Park?

The Code of Virginia, Title 4.1 Alcoholic Beverage Control Act, outlines definitions, general provisions, administration of licenses, prohibited practices dealing with alcohol, penalties and procedural matters. http://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title4.1/ Use of alcohol in Fairfax County parks without appropriate permits and approved agreements is AGAINST the law.

What is a Fairfax County Park Authority (Park Authority) Alcohol Beverage Use Application (ABUA) and what does it entail? Anyone using alcohol at a rental or an event on Park Authority property must obtain permission to do so through an Alcohol Beverage Use Application (ABUA). A \$200 fee per use per location must also be received prior to the event. You can obtain a copy of an Alcohol Beverage Use Application at (website link to download). A rental or use agreement with additional information related to the facility or space with times and dates of agreed upon usage and accompanying rules typically accompanies an ABUA.

How long does the process take to get an Alcohol Beverage Use permit and how will you know if it is approved? The amount of time it takes to receive a determination on your request may vary due to the size and scope of your event and staff availability. Staff will make every attempt to contact you within 2-3 business days of receipt of your request. If approved, applicants will receive the signed copy of the application through email that includes contact information for any follow up questions. The approved ABUA becomes your official Park Authority approval and must be kept with you during the event along with any other approval contracts or documents you receive related to the event.

What is the Virginia ABC Banquet License and when do I need it? In addition to receiving permission from the Park Authority for use of alcohol on its property, the Virginia ABC requires a permit under certain circumstances.

You will NOT need a Virginia ABC Banquet Licenses if these four conditions apply to your event:

- The event is private (i.e., not open to the public and not in a public place*)
 *although Park Authority facilities are public places, they may be restricted to the general public in cases such as a rental event, etc.
- Money is not exchanged for alcohol or otherwise
- The event is not held on a club or non-licensed restaurant premises
- Alcohol purchased for the event is NOT from a wholesaler/distributor

You WILL need a Virginia ABC Banquet License if you will be selling alcohol or charging an admission fee. For more information please reference the Virginia ABC License web pages at: https://www.abc.virginia.gov/licenses/get-a-license/banquet



Why did I have to obtain the Virginia ABC Banquet License for past events but now I am not required? The Virginia ABC has clarified their policies and as long as you have received permission from the Park Authority through an approved Alcohol Beverage Use Application AND your event meets the four requirements listed above, you will NOT need the additional Virginia ABC Banquet License.

What is Host Liquor Liability Insurance? Host Liquor Liability insurance coverage provides liability protection against bodily injury or property damage suits that may be brought by parties injured as a result of an intoxicated guest who was served alcohol at an event you hosted. Often times Host Liquor Liability coverage is included in Event Liability Insurance policies which can be purchased for specific private events such as weddings, birthday parties and reunions. Host Liquor Liability plans typically cover a one day period and can start as low as \$125. Coverage also can be extended to protect the event site at no additional cost. If you include the event site in your Event Liability coverage please include the site name and this statement: "Fairfax County Board of Supervisors, and Fairfax County Park Authority, its officers, employees and volunteers". Even if your event is alcohol free, host liquor liability coverage will typically cover you in the event that alcohol is consumed by guests without your knowledge. Keep in mind that catering businesses' General Liability insurance does not typically cover the event host from liability claims resulting from incidents involving alcohol consumed at the event.

What if I intend to charge a fee for alcoholic beverages, or a fee for admittance to the event? After obtaining permission from the Park Authority for alcohol use through the ABUA process, you will need to obtain an approved Virginia ABC Banquet License. The Park Authority also recommends the event holder consider obtaining Liquor Liability Insurance.

What is Liquor Liability Insurance? Liquor Liability Insurance is similar to Host Liquor Liability insurance, but provides a greater scope of coverage for the event holder. If money is exchanged for alcoholic beverages, or an admittance fee is collected for access to the event, the event holder would need to obtain Liquor Liability insurance for additional protection, as Host Liquor Liability does not provide the proper coverage for events where a fee is exchanged for alcoholic drinks.

Who can I call for questions about Insurance? Park Authority employees are not licensed insurance agents and legally cannot advise you on insurance matters. It is recommended that you reach out to an insurance agent on your own who can make recommendations for you regarding a specific event or activity.

Where can I find more information on Alcohol Beverage Use Applications or reserving an area or facility in the parks? For questions visit www.fairfaxcounty.gov/parks/permits.