

County of Fairfax, Virginia

To protect and enrich the quality of life for the people, neighborhoods and diverse communities of Fairfax County

# Fairfax County Transportation Advisory Commission Meeting Notes

# REGULAR MEETING – January 18, 2021 at 7:30 pm

Location: Virtual Meeting Web Site: <u>https://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/transportation/tac/meetings</u>

Note-Taker: Roger Hoskin

**TAC Members in Attendance:** Chair Mike Champness (Dranesville), Vice Chair MaryPauline Jones (Fairfax Area Disability Services Board), Secretary Roger Hoskin (Mason), Linda Sperling (At-Large), Kevin Morse (Braddock), Alexis Glenn (Lee), Pete Sitnik (Mount Vernon), Jeremy Hancock (Providence), and Eric Thiel (Springfield).

TAC Members Absent: M. David Skiles (Sully) and Kelley Westenhoff (Hunter Mill).

**Others in Attendance**: FCDOT staff: Brent Riddle, Chris Wells, Calvin Lam (Staff Liaison to the TAC), and Sally Smallwood, (Fairfax County Public Schools, FCPS)

# Special Guests/Observers/Public:

Board Transportation Aides/Board Staff: Marcus Wadsworth (Chairman McKay, Chairman of the Board of Supervisor), Clara Pizana (Vice Chairman Gross, Mason District), Shyamali Hauth (Supervisor Alcorn, Hunter Mill District), Peyton Smith (Supervisor Storck, Mount Vernon District), Frank Anderson (Supervisor Walkinshaw, Braddock District), Sally Kidalov (Supervisor Walkinshaw, Braddock District), Peyton Onks (Supervisor Herrity, Springfield District), and Patricia Leslie (Supervisor Palchik, Providence District).

# **Opening Remarks**

The meeting was called to order by Chair Champness at 7:35 pm. Chair Champness then proceeded with the protocol necessary to justify a virtual meeting.

To fulfill procedural obligations of virtual meetings, Chair Champness and Commissioner Jones performed the opening procedures for a virtual meeting via WebEx. Meeting recording and materials will be posted online at: <a href="http://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/transportation/tac/meetings">www.fairfaxcounty.gov/transportation/tac/meetings</a>

The location of each member was announced by voice because they are participating remotely from their private residence.

- Chair Michael Champness McLean
- Linda Sperling (At-Large) Clifton
- Kevin Morse (Braddock) Burke
- Secretary Roger Hoskin (Mason) Falls Church

- Pete Sitnik (Mount Vernon) Mount Vernon
- Alexis Glenn (Lee) Alexandria
- Jeremy Hancock (Providence) Falls Church
- Eric Thiel (Springfield) Fairfax Station
- Vice Chair MaryPauline Jones (Fairfax Area Disability Services Board) Herndon

Chair Champness made a first motion to "determine that each member's voice can be adequately heard by each other member of this Commission". It was seconded by Commissioner Sitnik, and unanimously approved.

Chair Champness made a second motion that "the State of Emergency caused by the COVID-19 pandemic makes it unsafe for this Commission to physically assemble and unsafe for the public to physically attend any such meeting. I further move that this Commission may conduct this meeting electronically through a dedicated audio-conferencing line, and that the public may access this meeting by Microsoft Teams online platform or by calling: **1-571-429-5982**, phone conference ID: **669 992 106**#. The phone number for ADA is 711. Access information is also available at the TAC website at: www.fairfaxcounty.gov/transportation/tac/meetings". It was seconded by Commissioner Thiel, and unanimously approved by the Commission.

Chair Champness made a third motion that "all of the matters on the agenda previously furnished and posted on the TAC website are necessary for continuity in Fairfax County government, and/or are statutorily required or necessary to continue operations and the discharge of this Commission's lawful purposes, duties, and responsibilities". It was seconded by Commissioner Hancock, and unanimously approved by the Commission.

The December meeting summary was then approved by voice vote.

## Agenda and Discussion Topics:

#### **Review of TAC 2022 Work Plan**

Introduction of Guests: Board of Supervisors (BOS) Transportation Staff persons.

The purposed 2022 TAC workplan was presented to the Board of Supervisors transportation staff members, including: Guiding principles, focus areas and the policy areas within those areas. Commissioners then commented on their areas of interest.

Then the supervisor staff commented on the plan and shared experiences and ongoing projects in each Magisterial district e.g., the Annandale Greenway project. Maintenance was highlighted as an important issue that is part of the Workplan.

Next, areas of interest from BOS transportation Staff were discussed. Improved maintenance and lighting were raised as concerns. Added Capital Bikeshare stations were added. One staff member suggested that BOS aids do not often meet or speak among themselves and improved communication among staff members could be helpful. Developing templates that address frequently asked queries would be useful to staff.

### Safe Routes to School (SRTS)

The SRTS program is a long-standing program funded through a federal grant through VDOT. While the infrastructure portion of the grant continues. This part of the Grant funds sidewalks, crosswalks and other infrastructure items. The coordinator is a funded position which administrates the educational aspects of encouraging implementation of SRTS; this function is not funded through the upcoming FY 22-23 Grant.

The TAC discussed having the Chairman send a letter to the BOS highlighting the elimination of the SRTS Coordinator position and the Commission's perspective on the importance of supporting active transportation in the county. Commissioners discussed sending the letter to the BOS with copy to the Chair of FCPS Board. Realizing that the TAC advises the BOS and not FCPS Board, the issue was how to communicate to the FCPS Board without appearing to go beyond our mandate to advise the BOS.

### Public Comment Period: N/A

#### **Other Business and Announcements**

- Agenda for February 2022 TAC Meeting
- Chair's Report
- Commissioners' Updates

Commissioner Jones moved to adjourn the meeting at 10:04 pm. It was seconded by Commissioner Sitnik and unanimously approved by the Commission.