Summary of Minutes - Draft

Tysons Transportation Service District Advisory Board

Virtual Meeting Via WebEx

April 8, 2021, 6:00 PM

Board Members in Attendance:

Jim Policaro – Commercial or Retail Ownership Representative #2 (Chair) Mark Zetts - Dranesville District Representative (Vice Chair)

Linda Colbert - Adjacent Community

Member Representative #1

Sally Horn - Adjacent Community Member

Representative #2

Christopher Auth- Providence District

Representative #1

Brad Swanson - Hunter Mill District

Representative #1

Raymond Baxter - Hunter Mill District

Representative #2

Erika Yalowitz- Residential Owners and HOA/Civic Association Representative #1

Doug Doolittle - Residential Owners and HOA/Civic Association Representative #2 Claudia Diamond- Residential Owners and HOA/Civic Association Representative #3 Cory Scott- Commercial or Retail Ownership

Representative #2

Even Pritchard – Tysons Partnership

Representative #1

David Gelfond- Tysons Partnership

Representative #2

Stu Mendelsohn – Northern Virginia

Chamber of Commerce

Board Members not in Attendance:

None

Others in Attendance:

Tom Biesiadny, Fairfax County Department of Transportation (FCDOT)
Jennifer Miller, FCDOT
Christina Farrar, FCDOT
Robin Geiger, FCDOT
Mei Fang, FCDOT
Suzianne Battista, DPD
Shyamali Hauth, Supervisor Alcorn's Office

Minutes Summary:

Chairman Jim Policaro called the meeting to order at 6:04 PM. Roll call was the first item on the agenda. Christina Farrar conducted a roll call to check the sound quality of each member's microphone. Chairman Jim Policaro motioned to take a vote that each Board member can hear each other, and all members voted that they could hear each other. Christina Farrar read the COVID electronic BAC meeting procedures. Chairman Jim Policaro motioned for the Board to

vote that they have met all the BAC requirements to meet electronically. Motion was approved by the TTSDAB members 14-0.

The next item on the agenda was to approve the minutes from November 12, 2020 meeting. Chairman Jim Policaro made a motion to approve the minutes. Minutes of November 12, 2020 were approved by the TTSDAB members 14-0. A request was made by Brad Swanson that County Staff include follow up items from meetings in agenda of the next meeting to ensure all follow up items were addressed. County staff will include follow up items on the agenda going forward.

The next item on the agenda was the consideration of the draft Boards, Authorities, and Commissions (BAC) Bylaws for the TTSDAB to follow. Chairman Jim Policaro made a motion to approve the BAC Bylaws. The BAC Bylaws were approved by the TTSDAB members 14-0.

Christina Farrar introduced the evening's presentation, "Update on Tysons Development and Transportation Projects". Development updates were given Suzianne Battista, and Transportation project updates were given by Christina Farrar and Tom Biesiadny.

During and following the presentation there was brief discussion concerning development activity and transportation progress. There were several questions asked by the advisory board for which staff provided clarification or agreed to follow up on.

- A request was made for rental vs. condos demographics to be split in the development update section of the presentation. Suzianne Battista is going to check with other County agencies to see if this could be split out/analyzed for the next meeting.
- A request was made for a previous forecast chart that demonstrated the 5% tax rate analysis to be added back to the presentation. This will be included in the fall presentation.

Christina Farrar finished the final portion of the presentation by discussing County staff's recommendation to hold the service district tax rate flat at \$0.05/\$100 valuation for FY 2022. Jim Policaro made a motion to recommend to the Board of Supervisors keeping the tax rate at \$0.05 for FY 2022. The motion was approved unanimously by a vote of 14-0. A recommendation letter will be sent to the Board of Supervisors before the FY 2022 budget hearings are finished on Friday, April 15, 2021.

The final item discussed on the agenda was the election of officers to serve on the advisory board for the next two years. A motion was made to reelect Jim Policaro as Chairman and Mark Zetts as Vice Chairman. Both officers were elected unanimously by a vote of 14-0.

Having no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 7:22 PM.