Clerk to the Board of Supervisors

The Office of the Clerk to the Board of Supervisors provides administrative and legislative support to the Board of Supervisors. The Clerk to the Board of Supervisors is Catherine A. Chianese. (

The county is organized under the Urban County Executive form of government and there are 10 members of the Board of Supervisors, nine district supervisors and a Chairman elected at large. Board members also serve on regional, and inter- and intra-jurisdictional boards and committees.

The Clerk's Office maintains regular business hours between 8 a.m. and 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday. Please contact the office as follows:

Telephone: 703-324-3151 (Voice mail after hours)
TTY: 703-324-3903
Fax: 703-324-3926

US Mail: Office to the Clerk to the Board of Supervisors
12000 Government Center Parkway, Suite 533
Fairfax, VA 22035-0072

The mission of the Clerk's Office is to provide timely and accurate legislative and administrative support services to the Board of Supervisors to meet administrative requirements in accordance with state law, the County Code, Board policy, and county policies and procedures.

Major responsibilities include:

  • Establishing and maintaining records of Board meetings and Board committee meetings.

  • Advertising Board public hearings and bond referenda in the legal section of a local newspaper.

  • Preserving legislative and historical records of the Board.

  • Managing the notification system for citizen appointments to Boards, Authorities and Commissions.

  • Tracking and safekeeping financial disclosure statements.

  • Providing administrative support through agency budget preparation, procurement actions, and personnel and payroll actions.

  • Maintaining and providing guardianship of the County Code. (This link will take you to a non-Fairfax County website.)

  • Providing formal notifications to applicants of Board decisions on land use issues.

  • Providing research assistance for Board actions.

Information listed on the county's Web site gives you electronic access to do the following:

The county's Web site offers a myriad of information concerning the Board of Supervisors. All Members of the Board have their own homepages:

Chairman, At-Large: Sharon Bulova

Braddock: John C. Cook

Dranesville: John W. Foust

Hunter Mill: Cathy M. Hudgins

Lee: Jeffrey C. McKay

Mason: Penelope A. Gross

Mount Vernon: Gerald W. Hyland

Providence: Linda Q. Smyth

Springfield: Pat Herrity

Sully: Michael R. Frey

Contact Fairfax County: Phone, Email or Twitter | Main Address: 12000 Government Center Parkway, Fairfax, VA 22035
Technical Questions: Web Administrator

ADA Accessibility | Website Accessibility
Awards | FOIA | Mobile | Using this Site | Web Disclaimer & Privacy Policy | Get Adobe Reader
Official site of the County of Fairfax, Virginia, © Copyright 2015

Website Feedback Website Feedback    Globe with various flags representing Web site language translations   Language Translations

Return to Graphic Version