Cooperator of the Year Awards

Matt Meyers Recognized with 2014 Cooperator of the Year Award

Matt Meyers Accepts 2014 Cooperator of the Year AwardMatt Meyers, Watershed Projects Implementation Branch Chief for Fairfax County Stormwater Planning Division, was honored as the 2014 Cooperator of the Year. For over 15 years, he has been a stalwart partner and ambassador for NVSWCD’s programs, resources and expertise. The number of cooperative projects are many; recent efforts include:

  • Completion of the Wakefield Run Stream Restoration Project,
  • Coordination of stream restoration efforts for the Tyson’s Corner Redevelopment,
  • Management of the Pohick Watershed Lake Dredging and Rehabilitation Projects, and presenting the status of these efforts at public meetings, at presentations to NVSWCD’s Board of Directors, and at a Green Breakfast,
  • Coordination of efforts to improve drainage on private property in the Patton Terrace neighborhood, and
  • Promotion of the value of cooperation and partnerships in natural resource protection through many venues, including the Bay-wide Stormwater Retreat.

In a January 2015 ceremony, NVSWCD Board Chair John Peterson told Meyers that he is a "true ambassador for natural resource management in Fairfax County" and "a role model in the profession for your long-term cooperation and partnership." 

# # #

The Northern Virginia Soil and Water Conservation District annually recognizes individuals or groups who work in partnership with the district to protect and conserve natural resources in Fairfax County. Other recent honorees include:

Friends of Accotink Creek Accept 2013 Cooperator of the Year AwardThe Friends of Accotink Creek were named the 2013 Cooperator of the Year in recognition of their partnership on the Wakefield Run project, promoting and taking on the stream naming, coordinating stream cleanups, native plant rescues and planting, invasive plant removal volunteer days, and using many tools to engage the Accotink Creek watershed community in water quality protection.

Charles Smith Accepts 2012 Cooperator of the Year AwardCharles Smith was named the 2012 Cooperator of the Year for his collaboration with NVSWCD staff on many projects over the years, including rain garden projects at the Packard Center, as well as Audrey Moore, Mt. Vernon and Cub Run Recreation Centers. He also facilitated a stream restoration at Wakefield Recreation Center.

Chuck Craft Accepts Special Appreciation AwardChuck Craft, General Superintendent for the Department of Public Works and Environmental Services, was presented with a Certificate of Appreciation for his outstanding partnership over many years. Craft has partnered with the NVSWCD staff to organize the Annual Land Conservation Awards program. Under his leadership, the entire program runs smoothly, from the nomination of projects and the semi-annual site judging to the culminating awards ceremony.

Fairfax Master Naturalists recognized as 2011 Cooperator of the Year by NVSWCDThe Fairfax Master Naturalists is a cadre of volunteers that has been growing since 2007. Their 138 active naturalists (as of 2011) are trained in the field and classroom and have contributed countless volunteer hours to environmental projects. Fairfax Master Naturalists have partnered, volunteered and taken a leadership role with a number of prominent environmental programs with the Soil and Water Conservation District, including as Watershed-Friendly Garden Tour hosts, organizational judges for the Fairfax County Science and Technology Fair, long-term biological stream monitors, and volunteer storm drain labeling project leaders

  • Matt Meyers, 2014 Cooperator of the Year
  • Friends of Accotink Creek, 2013 Cooperator of the Year
  • Charles Smith, 2012 Cooperator of the Year; Chuck Craft, Special Appreciation Award
  • Fairfax Chapter of the Virginia Master Naturalists, 2011 Cooperator of the Year
  • B.J. Sistani, Code Analysis, DPWES, 2010 Cooperator of the Year
  • Angler Environmental, 2009 Cooperator of the Year
  • Jim McGlone, 2008 Cooperator of the Year
  • Fairfax County Public Schools - Maintenance Division, 2007 Cooperator of the Year
  • Resource Management Division, FCPA, 2006 Cooperator of the Year
  • Maintenance and Stormwater Management, 2005 Cooperator of the Year
  • Jeanette Stewart, 2004 Cooperator of the Year
  • Diana Handy, 2003 Cooperator of the Year
  • Laura Grape, 2002 Cooperator of the Year
  • Steve Aitcheson, 2001 Cooperator of the Year
  • Norma Hoffman, 2000 Cooperator of the Year
  • DPWES Utilities Planning and Design, 1999 Cooperator of the Year
  • Judy Okay, 1998 Cooperator of the Year
  • Sherry Penney, 1997 Cooperator of the Year
  • Friends of Sugarland Run, 1996 Cooperator of the Year
  • Walter Hamilton, 1995 Cooperator of the Year
  • Shep Oliver, 1994 Cooperator of the Year
  • Supervisor Gerry Hyland, 1993 Cooperator of the Year
  • Cindy Zimar; James Frazier, 1992 Cooperator of the Year
  • Mrs. Hiu Newcomb, 1991 Cooperator of the Year
  • Bernie Parsons, 1990 Cooperator of the Year
  • Lake Barcroft Watershed Improvement District, 1989 Cooperator of the Year
  • Union Camp Corporation, 1988 Cooperator of the Year
  • Bill Sheads, 1987 Cooperator of the Year
  • Mike Wagner, 1986 Cooperator of the Year
  • Col Spalding, 1985 Cooperator of the Year
  • John Koenig, 1984 Cooperator of the Year
  • Joe Flakne, 1983 Cooperator of the Year
  • Arlington-Fairfax Chapter of the Izaak Walton League, 1982 Cooperator of the Year
  • Col. Bill Smith, 1981 Cooperator of the Year
  • Shouse Homeowners Association, 1980 Cooperator of the Year

Contact Fairfax County: Phone, Email or Twitter | Main Address: 12000 Government Center Parkway, Fairfax, VA 22035
Technical Questions: Web Administrator

ADA Accessibility | Website Accessibility
Awards | FOIA | Mobile | Using this Site | Web Disclaimer & Privacy Policy | Get Adobe Reader
Official site of the County of Fairfax, Virginia, © Copyright 2016

Website Feedback Website Feedback    Globe with various flags representing Web site language translations   Language Translations

Return to Graphic Version