Student Human Rights Commission

 About the Commission

Fairfax County Student Human Rights Commission LogoThe Fairfax County Office of Human Rights & Equity Programs in partnership with Fairfax County Public Schools has launched the region’s first Student Human Rights Commission. Known as the Fairfax County Student Human Rights Commission, the body consists of one student from each Fairfax County public high school.  The purpose of the student commission is to promote dialogues on diversity among youth, to foster a greater understanding and appreciation of differences, to create exposure to human and civil rights laws, such as the Fairfax County Human Rights Ordinance and the Fair Housing Act, and to encourage leadership and active participation in government.  The group will host programs and activities in support of its purpose.

 Fairfax County Student Human Rights Commission Bylaws










    Fair Housing Contest 2015


    Fairfax County Student Human Rights Commission Fair Housing Contest


Upcoming Projects

  • Fair Housing Contest
  • Read Across America Reading Project 2015
  • Cultural Celebrations Video Project


                              2014 – 2015 Student Commissioners


Centreville HS Kristen Talman (Secretary)
  Michael Marrow  
Chantilly HS Jordan Beeker  
Lake Braddock HS Anastasia Slepukhova  
Oakton HS Alicia Kay (Social Media Coordinator)
  Sehej Johar (Chair)
Robinson HS Elza Thomas  
  Nam Hyun Kim  
South County HS Lauren Bidwell (Vice Chair)
  Malcolm Slugg  
South Lakes HS Alina (Alla ) Cartwright  
  Caroline Kulcaycky  
Thomas Jefferson HS Kavya Koparapu  
  Sahana Ramani  
  Sretya Atluri  
Westfield HS Diana (Carolina) Sosa  


Contact Fairfax County: Phone, Email or Twitter | Main Address: 12000 Government Center Parkway, Fairfax, VA 22035
Technical Questions: Web Administrator

ADA Accessibility | Website Accessibility
Awards | FOIA | Mobile | Using this Site | Web Disclaimer & Privacy Policy | Get Adobe Reader
Official site of the County of Fairfax, Virginia, © Copyright 2013

Website Feedback Website Feedback    Globe with various flags representing Web site language translations   Language Translations

Return to Graphic Version