Civil Records


Overview

Online File Request Forms | Civil - Criminal |

File Room
Only the most recent Civil files (approximately 5 years) are located in the file room on the third floor of the Fairfax County Courthouse. Please check with staff for the location of any file over 5 years old at (703) 691-7320, press 3, 1, 0.

Caution - Cases With Upcoming Trial
Cases scheduled on an upcoming trial docket or Friday motions docket are pulled in advance of that date and may be unavailable. If your case is being appealed on the state level, the case file will have been sent to Richmond and will be unavailable until returned to this court.

Restrictions - Sealed Files
All Juvenile and Domestic Relations Court appeals and all "Sealed" files can only be viewed by the parties involved and/or their attorneys of record. There may be even further restrictions imposed by the court order that sealed the record. To view these files, a photo ID is required and checked against the sealing order.

Adoption Files
Due to their sensitive nature, all adoption files are sealed and, in addition, all inactive adoption files will require a court order for access.

Copies
Copies up to 10 pages will be made while you wait. Copy requests for more than 10 pages will be sent to the copy center and will be made within 5 working days. The fee for copies is 50 cents per page.

If you need your copy to be certified (stamped and signed by a deputy clerk with a seal attached) there is an additional fee of $2.00 per document. Please see the attached document for more information on obtaining a certified copy of your Final Decree of Divorce.

If you need a triple seal copy, (signed and sealed by the Clerk of Court and a judge) the fee is $2.50 per document in addition to the copy fee. Please allow up to 5 working days for a triple sealed copy.

Offsite Records Center

Older Law, Chancery, and Fiduciary files, and all very large Law and Chancery (box files) are located at the Offsite Records Center in Fairfax City. General District Court files, for the years 1977 to 1984 only, are also located there. Please check with staff for the location of any file over five years old.

Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m. - Monday through Friday.

Contact Us: (703) 246-6656

Parking: Available on University Drive or in the lot behind the Records Center and Department of Housing building. The entrance is located along University Drive.

Location: One University Plaza, 4500 University Drive, Fairfax, Virginia 22030


View Larger Map


Contact Fairfax County: Phone, Email or Twitter | Main Address: 12000 Government Center Parkway, Fairfax, VA 22035
Technical Questions: Web Administrator

ADA Accessibility | Website Accessibility
Awards | FOIA | Mobile | Using this Site | Web Disclaimer & Privacy Policy | Get Adobe Reader
Official site of the County of Fairfax, Virginia, © Copyright 2013

Website Feedback Website Feedback    Globe with various flags representing Web site language translations   Language Translations

Return to Graphic Version