Post D Program
Post Dispositional Program
The Post Dispositional Program (Beta), within the Juvenile Detention Center, was established in 1998 to provide the judges and staff an alternative to committing youth to the Department of Juvenile Justice, (DJJ) (in accordance with the Code of Virginia 16.1-284.1).
The Beta Program
The Beta Program was created to address the issues and needs of juveniles sentenced under Code of Virginia 16.1-284.1. It is a therapeutic program which confines youth for up to six months in the Juvenile Detention Center and provides the Court an alternative to committing youth to the Department of Juvenile Justice (in accordance with 16.1-284.1). The Beta Program also has six months of aftercare after the youth has completed the six months of confinement component. Interventions are structured to address delinquency, behavioral/mental health, substance abuse and educational issues. Some of these treatment areas may be anger management, developing positive coping skills, maintaining healthy relationships, decision-making, moral reasoning, identifying and setting boundaries. Services include individual and group counseling, family therapy, a psycho-education, and substance abuse treatment. The Beta Program also utilizes the Nurturing Parent Program, Victim Impact Classes, and a creative art curriculum in address various delinquency issues. The program’s Counseling, Mental Health, and Substance Abuse staff services the residents. An on-site Fairfax County Public Alternative School addresses the educational needs of all youth. Three full time teachers and additional educational staff within the Juvenile Detention Center staff the Beta Program School.
The 11-bed program accommodates male offenders ages 14 - 17. To enter the program juveniles must be referred by a probation officer and must complete an admissions assessment with Beta Program Administration to determine their appropriateness for placement following the youth being court ordered into the program. The Code requires that the youth must be 14 years of age or older, has not previously been and is not currently adjudicated delinquent of a violent juvenile felony or found guilty of a violent juvenile felony and has not been released from the custody of the Department of Juvenile Justice within the previous 18 months. Furthermore, the interest of the juvenile and the community requires that the juvenile be placed under legal restraint or discipline, and that other placements authorized under title 16.1 will not serve the best interest of the juvenile. The Code further requires that the court shall order the juvenile committed to the Department of Juvenile Justice if he is eligible but suspended such commitment and conduct mandatory review hearings at least once during each thirty-day period of confinement. The program does not accept youth who are psychotic or those requiring sex-offender treatment services.