Birth and Death Certificates
Birth and death certificates are maintained by Virginia's Office of Vital Records in Richmond. Vital records are available to immediate family members only: mother, father, husband, wife, adult son or daughter, brother, sister, grandparents, and adult grandchildren with valid ID.
- Aunts, uncles, cousins, in-laws, ex-spouses, etc. cannot obtain a vital record.
- Birth records become public information after 100 years; and death, marriage, and divorce after 50 years.
There are three ways to request a birth and death certificates from the Virginia Department of Health:
- Mail (forms also are available at all county Health Department district offices)
- Online (for immediate needs)
- In Person (in Richmond)
Virginia's Office of Vital Records can be reached by phone at 1-804-662-6200.
More About Birth Certificates
You may request certain corrections to a birth certificate through the Virginia Department of Health. If the request is denied, then you may file a request through the Fairfax Circuit Court. A copy of the denial letter from the Office of Vital Records must accompany the petition, order and supporting documentation to correct a birth certificate.
View the current court fee schedule (PDF).
Fairfax County Office of Vital Records
The Office of Vital Records in Fairfax County is located at the Joseph Willard Health Center and serves Fairfax County and the cities of Fairfax and Falls Church.
Direct Phone Number: 703-246-7122, TTY 711.
Functions of the Fairfax County Office of Vital Records:
- Request copies of death certificates for all deaths occurring in Fairfax County and the cities of Fairfax and Falls Church during the past 5 years
- Certify death certificate applications
- Live birth certificates are certified (births outside a hospital only)
- Requests a Verification of Death Letter
- Issue transit permits