Don’t Be A Scrooge: Put Down Your Phone While Driving

photo of quarterback Kirk Cousins and county police officers.


Think about your driving the last few days…do you have a lot on your mind about work, family and holiday planning?  Have you been looking at the holiday lights popping up in our neighborhoods or maybe you are frustrated by the extra traffic near the stores on your way home?

The holiday season brings additional distractions that may affect your driving and a good time to remind everyone to put your phone down and don’t text, swipe or like while driving.

29 percent of car crashes caused by distracted driving


We know distracted driving causes crashes. In 2016, 29 percent of the 35,000 crashes reported in Fairfax County were due to distracted driving. In addition, about 13,000 drivers have received tickets for texting while driving.


Phones Down Touchdown

Don’t just take our word for it, Redskins quarterback Kirk Cousins visited our county on Nov. 29 to remind us to put down our phones while driving:


“I don’t text or look at my phone while driving because it is dangerous…texting for just five seconds is the same as driving blindfolded across the length of a football field.” Kirk Cousins, Quarterback and Spokesperson for Phone Down Touchdown


3 Things to Know about Distracted Driving
    1. Texting while driving is illegal in Virginia and most other states. In Virginia it is a primary offense, which means you may be stopped if suspected of texting while driving.
    2. At any given daylight moment across the country, approximately 660,000 drivers are using cell phones or electronic devices while driving.
    3. Drivers under age 18 years of age are the largest proportion of driv­ers who were distracted at the time of the crashes. Virginia’s teen driving restrictions are aimed at helping drivers stay safe and to reduce the number of car crashes.

Read previous post:
accessible parking space
Don’t Be a Scrooge: Leave Accessible Parking Spaces for People with Disabilities

SHARE POINTS [Tweet "Parking in accessible space for "just a couple of minutes" is illegal."] [Tweet "You can be fined...