Please note: As of March 30, 2020, Vital Records services will be offered at the Joseph Willard Health Center only, Monday - Friday from 8 a.m. - 4 p.m.
Fairfax County Office of Vital Records issues certified copies of vital records (or “certificates”) for these events that occurred in Virginia:
- Births: June 1912 +
- Marriages: 1936 +
- Divorces: 1918 +
- Deaths: June 1912 +
Vital records are available for oneself or immediate family members only: mother, father, husband, wife, adult son or daughter, brother, sister, grandparents and adult grandchildren with valid identification. Aunts, uncles, cousins, in-laws, ex-spouses, etc. cannot obtain a vital record. Birth records become public information after 100 years while death, marriage and divorce records after 25 years.
The fee for a vital record is $12.00 for each certificate, copy and/or search of a vital record. Please note: regardless if a record is located, there is a $12 fee for the initial record search. If the search is not able to locate the requested record, the request will be sent to the Virginia Department of Health’s Division of Vital Records in Richmond, Va., to process. The Division of Vital Records will then mail the certificate if located.
Fairfax County Office of Vital Records accepts cash, check, money orders, VISA or Mastercard for payment.
Fairfax County Office of Vital Records Hours and Locations
As of March 30, 2020, Vital Records services will be offered at the Joseph Williard Center only, Monday - Friday 8 a.m. - 4 p.m.
Same-day service is available at four locations in Fairfax County. Anyone may visit one of these sites to obtain Vital Records that have taken place in the Commonwealth of Virginia.
Hours: Monday to Friday, 8 a.m.-4:30 p.m. Closed 12-1 p.m.
3750 Old Lee Highway
Fairfax, VA 22030
Phone: 703-246-7122, TTY 711
Annandale District Office
7611 Little River Turnpike, #400 East Wing
Annandale, VA 22003
Mount Vernon District Office
8350 Richmond Highway, Suite 233
Alexandria, VA 22309
Phone: 703-704-6138, TTY 711
Herndon-Reston District Office
1850 Cameron Glen Drive, Suite 100
Reston, VA 20190
Fairfax County Office of Vital Records can provide certified copies of birth certificates at four locations in Fairfax County for births taken place in Virginia from June 1912 to the present. Birth certificates are typically available two weeks after filed with the state.
For a certified copy of a birth certificate*, please visit one of the locations during business hours. There is no need to make an appointment. Please review ID requirements prior to your visit. Only immediate family members (mother, father, current spouse, child sibling, or grandparents) can obtain copies and they must provide valid identification. Legal guardians must provide custody papers in order to get a certificate. Aunts, uncles, cousins, in-laws, former spouses, etc. cannot get any copies. A payment of $12 per copy is required.
For births outside of Virginia, but in the United States visit the National Center for Health Statistics.
For births that occurred outside of the United States, visit the National Center for Health Statistics.
*The Fairfax County Office of Vital Records does not provide Special Use Birth Certificates (Long Form). To obtain a Special Use Birth Certificate visit the Virginia Department of Health website.
Correcting a Virginia Birth Certificate
You may request certain corrections to a birth certificate through Virginia’s Division of Vital Records. If the request is denied, you may file a request through the Fairfax Circuit Court. A copy of the denial letter from the Virginia Division of Vital Records must accompany the petition, order and supporting documentation to correct a birth certificate.
For more information about the process, see correcting a Virginia birth certificate.
Fairfax County Office of Vital Records can:
- Provide certified copies of death certificates for all deaths that happened in the Commonwealth of Virginia from June 1912 to present date.
- Certify death certificate applications.
- Request a Verification of Death Letter.
- Issue out-of-state transit permits.
If it is less than 30 days since the filing of the death, people can only get a copy of the death certificate from the city/county where it was originally filed.
For information on deaths that occurred outside of the United States, visit the National Center for Health Statistics.
Fairfax County Office of Vital Records can provide certified copies of marriages that have taken place in Virginia for 1932 to the present. The following information will be required to complete the application: full name of the groom, full maiden name of the bridge, date and place of marriage and the name of the circuit court that issued the marriage license.
Fairfax County Office of Vital Records can provide certified copies of divorces that have taken place in Virginia from 1918 to the present. If you need a Divorce Decree please contact the Courthouse where your divorce is filed.