Fairfax County Police Department

Fairfax County, Virginia

CONTACT INFORMATION: Open during regular business hours 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., Monday - Friday

TTY 711 (Non-Emergency)

12099 Government Center Parkway
Fairfax, VA 22035

Kevin Davis,
Chief of Police

Community Reporting System (CRS)

For an emergency or crime in progress, DIAL 911 NOW. Do NOT use this form.

Community Reporting CitizenIn response to the Coronavirus (COVID-19), the Community Reporting System will expand operating hours to 24 hours a day. In an effort to provide exemplary service while maintaining the health and safety of community members and police officers, all non-emergency events may be designated to be handled over the telephone in lieu of face to face contact with an officer.
Using this Community Reporting System allows you to report a crime 24/7 within Fairfax County; however, not every crime can be reported. Please read the information below to determine if using this system is appropriate for your purpose. An officer will reply within 72 hours.


Reportable Types of Crimes:

  • Bicycle Theft
  • Civil Dispute
  • Destruction of Private Property/Vandalism
  • Larceny/Theft from Motor Vehicle or Parts
  • Larceny/Theft Under $5,000
  • Lost Property
  • Suspicious Person/Vehicle
  • Solicitor Violations
  • Telephone Harassment/Threats
  • Trespassing
  • Unoccupied Hit and Run Accidents




You Cannot Report These Crimes:

  • Aggressive driving
  • Breaking and entering your home or business, completed or attempted
  • Check, Credit card cases, stolen values over $5,000
  • Financial Crimes
  • Hate/Bias crime
  • Incidents occurring within past 30 minutes
  • Larceny by force
  • Larceny over $5,000
  • Larceny with a stolen driver’s license, passport or social security card.
  • Sex crimes, completed or attempted
  • Lost or Stolen license plate(s)
  • Stolen prescription drugs/narcotics
  • Stolen vehicles, completed or attempted
  • Theft or loss of a firearm
  • Violent crimes, completed or attempted


Call To Report

If you are the victim of one of the incidents mentioned above please call our non-emergency number at 703-691-2131 so an officer can be dispatched to take the report.

Important Tips for Filing a Report:

1. Filing a false police report is a CRIME.          

Legal Disclaimer for Community Reporting System:

Be advised that it is a crime to make a false police report. Anyone found to have submitted a false police report will be prosecuted under the authority of Virginia State Code, Section 18.2-461, which shall be punishable as a Class 1 misdemeanor. Maximum possible penalty is one year in jail and/or $2,500 fine.


By starting your report, you have acknowledged the statement above. When reporting a crime through this system, it does not initiate an investigation by an officer, nor will an officer be assigned automatically to the case.

2. You must be at least 18 years of age. 

3. Please make sure to turn off your pop-up blocking software before filing the report.

4. Upon completion of your report process you will be given a temporary report number, and will be able to print a copy of the temporary report for your records.

5. All cases filed using the Community Reporting System will be reviewed.

6. Upon review, if further investigation of your case is needed, you may be contacted.

If you have any further questions, please look at our Community Reporting System Frequently Asked Questions.


Enter Your Report

Fairfax Virtual Assistant