Moving This Summer? 4 Things to Know

Photo of moving van being unloaded.
SHARE POINT

 

Summer is the most popular season for people to move — schools are out and the weather is better. And in our county, we’re talking about a lot of people moving. According to the U.S. Census Bureau (2010-2014 American Community Survey), within a year, an estimated 85,000 people will move into Fairfax County, while an estimated 77,000 will move away.

What the numbers don’t show is that moving can often be a stressful and expensive experience. Here are four things to know if you have a move in your future.

 

1. Do Your Research

Start your search for a reputable moving company well before your rental lease is up or your home has sold. Before you hire a moving company, you should understand your consumer rights and responsibilities.

If you are moving within Virginia, your move is regulated by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles.

Read Your Rights and Responsibilities Moving Within Virginia

 

If you are moving out of the state or internationally, your move is regulated by the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration.

Read Your Right and Responsibilities Moving Out of Virginia or the U.S.

 

2. Have a Checklist

There is a lot to do when planning a move! Getting estimates from movers and insuring your belongings are just a few important tasks.

This handy checklist can help you get organized and remember key tasks for a successful move.

Moving checklist

 

3. Know What To Do If Something Goes Wrong

If you have belongings that are damaged or missing, or something else went wrong during your move, there are steps you can take:

  • Contact your mover for a claim form. Claims should be filed with the mover as soon as possible, but no later than 30 calendar days after delivery. Do not dispose of any damaged items or the packing materials used for those items since they will be needed for proof of damage.
  • Contact our Consumer Affairs Branch for advice on steps you may want to take if the moving company is not helpful. Call 703-222-8435, TTY 711, (weekdays, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.), or email consumer@fairfaxcounty.gov
  • To file a complaint about a moving company with the commonwealth of Virginia, contact either:

 

4. We Survived Our Move, Now What?

Whether you are lucky enough to be moving into or within Fairfax County, or heading elsewhere, you should check with your local and state jurisdiction to take care of some essentials right away. Put these on your to-do list if you are moving into Fairfax County:

Read previous post:
collecting illegal signs
$6,000 in Fines Levied for Signs Illegally Posted on Roads

SHARE POINTS [Tweet "More than 27,000 signs removed from roadways in 11 months."] [Tweet " State law prohibits posting signs...

Close