Board of Supervisors - Chairman

Fairfax County, Virginia

CONTACT INFORMATION: Office open weekdays 8:30am - 5pm

TTY 711

12000 Government Center Parkway, Suite 530
Fairfax, VA 22035

Jeffrey C. McKay,

Department Resources


The Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authority (WMATA) operates Metrorail, Metrobus and MetroAccess. WMATA was created in 1967 as an interstate transit authority between Virginia, Washington D.C. and Maryland. WMATA provides bus and rail service for thousands of Fairfax County residents, commuters and visitors every year. The Metrorail system consists of six color-coded rail lines: Red, Orange, Yellow, Green, Blue and Silver. Fairfax County is served by ten Metrorail stations on the Orange, Silver, Blue and Yellow lines. Three additional Silver Line Metrorail stations are scheduled to open in Fairfax County in 2020 as part of Silver Line Phase 2.

Silver Line Phase 1:


Construction began in 2009 after Chairman Bulova and her colleagues successfully obtained the largest Transportation Infrastructure Finance and Innovation Act (TIFIA) loan ever issued by the federal government to help fund this transformative regional project. The Silver Line project spanned across many decades, numerous administrations, elected officials and community leaders. Phase 1 includes five Metrorail stations in Tysons and Reston. The station names are McLean, Tysons Corner, Greensboro, Spring Hill and Wiehle-Reston East. Phase I of the Silver Line officially opened for service on July 14, 2014.

Silver Line Phase 2:


Silver Line Phase 2 will consist of six new stations (three in Fairfax County and three in Loudoun County). The stations will be named Reston Town Center, Herndon, Innovation Center, Dulles Airport, Loudoun Gateway and Ashburn. Silver Line Phase 2 is scheduled to open in 2020 and will provide a seamless connection for riders headed to Dulles International Airport.

Additional Resources:



Silver Line Metro

Dulles Corridor Metrorail Project


Fairfax Virtual Assistant