Juneteenth Resiliency Award

Submissions Closed

Watch the awards show to see which nominees best represent those who demonstrate courage, resilience and perseverance while remaining dedicated to their dreams and/or service to others in the Black community!

The Juneteenth Resiliency Award is about celebrating our young people in Fairfax County for facing and overcoming adversities. The award recognizes and celebrates resiliency in youth and young adults ages 13-21 who have exhibited true perseverance (also known as grit, determination, dedication and persistence).

Juneteenth Resiliency Award Winners

2022 Award Winners


2022 Juneteenth Resiliency Award Winners

  1. Ty Wilson and Zak Kumar 
  2. Zina Abdon 
  3. Vera Kwabi 
  4. Riley Williams 
  5. AAlyhdaezey Golden
  6. Nadiya Khalif 
  7. Kofi Asiamah Ahenkorah  
  8. Ambria Redfearn 
  9. Jasmine Hampton 
  10. Brian Hampton
  11. Joshua Hampton 

Watch the 2022 Juneteenth Resiliency Awards Show

2021 Award Winners


2021 Juneteenth Resiliency Award Winners 

  1. Naysa Piper-Fisher
  2. Derman Whitney
  3. Kimberly Boateng
  4. Yasmine Bolden
  5. Eric Thurman
  6. Adrianna Khaled  
  7. Tiffany Stowers
  8. Donnie Perry
  9. Simara Alexander
  10. Katrina Tillery

Watch the 2021 Juneteenth Resiliency Awards Show

The 2022 nomination period has ended.


Review Process

A panel of judges will review each nomination using a rubric to score the responses to the resiliency questions about your nominee.

  • Recipients will be selected from two ages groups: 13-16 and 17-21. Recipients will be notified on June 2, 2022.
  • Awardees will be recognized at the June 7, 2022 Board of Supervisors meeting at 12000 Government Center Parkway, Board Auditorium, Fairfax, VA 22035. The meeting starts at 9 a.m. and will be available to view live on Channel 16 and stream online.

Confidentiality/Privacy Policy

Fairfax County wants you to be aware that the information you provide about a potential 2022 Juneteenth Resiliency Award nominee is subject to public access as a public record under the Virginia Freedom of Information Act (VFOIA).

The VFOIA gives citizens of the Commonwealth and representatives of certain news organizations the right to inspect and copy public records held by Fairfax County, with some exceptions. 

I acknowledge that the information I am providing about a potential 2022 Juneteenth Resiliency Award nominee is not protected and may be subject to disclosure under the VFOIA.  Access to such information will be provided if disclosure is required in response to a VFOIA request.

Frequently Asked Questions

How will I know my nominee was selected?

Everyone will be notified on June 2, 2022.

May I nominate a person more than once?

You may only nominate a person one time. However, you may nominate different people.

When will winners be announced?

Winners will be recognized at the June 7, 2022 Board of Supervisors meeting at 12000 Government Center Parkway, Board Auditorium, Fairfax, VA 22035.

May I nominate myself?

Yes, you may nominate yourself if you meet the award’s eligibility requirements.

Who can make nomination?

Anyone could nominate someone who meets the eligibility requirements.

Fairfax Virtual Assistant