Consumer Services Division

CONTACT INFORMATION: 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Monday - Friday
703-222-8435 TTY 711
12000 Government Center Parkway, Suite 433
Fairfax, VA 22035

Consumer Protection Commission

Thirteen commissioners are appointed by the Board of Supervisors to three-year terms. At least seven are consumers not actively engaged in business in Fairfax County.

  • Harold G. Belkowitz, Esq.
  • Chester J. Freedenthal
  • Denis Gulakowski, Vice-Chairperson
  • Dirck A. Hargraves, Esq.
  • Dennis Dean Kirk, Esq.
  • Jason J. Kratovil, Chairperson
  • Pratik J. Kharat
  • Triston "Chase" O'Savio
  • Michael J. Roark
  • Jacqueline G. Rosier, Secretary
  • Dr. Maurice B. Springer
  • Paul Svab


Third Tuesday of each month at 7:30 p.m. at the Fairfax County Government Center. Meetings are open to the public and time is available for public comment.


To help protect Fairfax County consumers from illegal, fraudulent or deceptive consumer practices in the marketplace.


Consumer Protection Commission Bylaws approved September 14, 2021.

Consumer Protection Commission Remote Participation Policy approved October 18, 2022.

Powers and Duties

  • Shall advise the Board of Supervisors on consumer affairs and shall report periodically thereto concerning the Commission’s activities .
  • Shall advise the Department of Cable and Consumer Services on consumer matters and on carrying out its duties and functions under Fairfax County Code Chapter 10.
  • May hold public hearings on and publish its findings on issues of widespread public interest which deal with illegal, fraudulent, deceptive, or dangerous consumer practices. May adopt, promulgate, amend, and rescind rules and regulations, subject to the approval of the Board of Supervisors, concerning such issues.
  • May refer apparent violations of any provisions of Chapter 2.1 (Virginia Home Solicitation Sales Act §§ 59.1-21.1 through 59.1-21.7:1) and 17 (Virginia Consumer Protection Act §§ 59.1-196 through 59.1-207) of Title 59.1 of the Code of Virginia, as amended, to either the Commonwealth Attorney or to the County Attorney or to both for investigation.
  • Shall have all powers and perform all duties specified under Chapter 28.1 (Massage Therapy, Establishments and Services), Chapter 31 (Peddlers, Solicitors, and Canvassers), Section 82-5-32 (Removal, immobilization, and disposition of vehicles unlawfully parked on private or County property), and Chapter 84.1 (Public Transportation) of the Code of the County of Fairfax.

Staff Duties

  • County staff handles the day-to-day inquiries for information, referrals, advice and mediation on a variety of consumer issues.
  • Staff is available to assist the public Monday - Friday from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
  • Receive and investigate complaints.
  • Refer complaints and action thereon.
  • Resolve consumer complaints.
  • Maintain records.
  • Consumer information and education.
  • Represent consumer interests.
  • Analyze consumer problems.


Prior Agendas


Annual Reports


Staff support for the Consumer Protection Commission can be reached at 703-222-8435, TTY 711, Monday-Friday, 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. or by emailing

Fairfax Virtual Assistant