Fire and Rescue

Fairfax County, Virginia

CONTACT INFORMATION: Our office is open 8:00AM-4:30PM M-F

12099 Government Center Parkway
Fairfax, VA 22035

,

Record Requests (VFOIA)

The Virginia Freedom of Information Act (VFOIA) (Chapter 37 of Title 2.2 of Code of Virginia) provides citizens of the Commonwealth of Virginia access to public records held by public bodies as defined in the Act (with the exemption of HIPAA protected medical records, to include EMS  Pre-Hospital transport documentation).VFOIA also provides access to public records to representatives of the print media with circulation in the Commonwealth and representatives of radio and television stations broadcasting in or into the Commonwealth. Fairfax County’s VFOIA policy is located HERE.

 

Rights of the Requester. Any Virginia citizen may request to look at records held by Fairfax County Fire & Rescue Department (FCFRD or “agency”), or to request copies of them in any medium the FCFRD uses.This includes e-mail. You do not have to cite the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) when you make a request, and the request does not have to be in writing. However, it is preferred that the requestor use the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) Request Form. You do not have to tell the agency why you want access to a record. However, the requestor must provide his/her name and legal address when making a FOIA request. Records requests should be as specific as possible. (Code of Virginia §2.2-3704).

Responsibilities of the Agency. The FCFRD is required to take all necessary precautions for the preservation and safekeeping of records maintained, and will make reasonable efforts to reach an agreement over FOIA requests. When the FCFRD receives a FOIA request, the agency has five days to provide the requested records by either providing the entire record, withholding the entire record, giving you part of the record, or letting you know that it will take another seven days to fulfill the request. If any part of the record is withheld, the agency must inform you in writing of exactly which FOIA exemption or other law justifies the denial. The FCFRD is not compelled to create a new record where one does not already exist. (Code of Virginia §2.2-3704). 

Costs Associated with VFOIA Request. A public body is permitted to make reasonable charges not to exceed the actual cost incurred in accessing, duplicating, supplying, or searching for the requested records. Example of charges may include staff research time, postage, and copy fee of .10 cents per page. If asked for by the requestor, the public body must make an advance estimate of the charges. The requestor may be required to make a deposit if the estimate is over $200. (Code of Virginia §2.2-3704). Fees are non-refundable. For any check returned for Non-Sufficient Funds (NSF), a $35.00 fee will be charged.

Before processing a request for records, a public body may require the requestor to pay for any amounts owed to the public body for previous requests for records that remain unpaid 30 days or more after billing. Please allow five business days (excluding holidays) for a response to your VFOIA request. If the record(s) cannot be practically provided within five working days; an additional seven days is then requested, within which the public body must make the record(s) available. You will be contacted if any delay is expected.

If the information you are seeking is not mentioned in the Fire & Rescue website, please email the Fire & Rescue Department VFOIA team at fire.foia@fairfaxcounty.gov.

 

 

Media and news inquiries must be made directly to the department's Public Affairs Office (PAO):
- During business hours (M-F 8am-4:30pm), call the PAO at 703-246-3801 or TTY 711, or Fax: 703-246-5899.
- During weekends or after-hours, call the Duty PAO at 703-280-0694.[GJ1] 

 

Fire or EMS Incident and Report Request Only

Fire Incident - Incident report relating a house fire, vehicle fire, hazmat, motor vehicle accident, motor vehicle fire, water damage ,gas leak, public service, etc.

Emergency Medical IncidentRequests for Medical Records (Pre-hospital EMS transport records), must include a HIPAA authorization form signed by the patient or legal guardian; if patient is deceased, their legal representative must sign the HIPAA form, as well as provide a copy of the Death Certificate  for the patient, and proper current legal documentation such as a Power of Attorney. Please make sure to indicate your relationship to patient. Incomplete HIPAA Authorization Release  forms, will be considered invalid and the request may be rejected. Please allow up to 30 days for processing of medical record requests per VA Code§ 32.1-127.1:03, subsection E.

  • A submitted Power of Attorney is not valid when the principal dies.
  • If the patient is deceased, please include the death certificate.
  • If you are the administrator of the estate, please include the Certificate of Qualification or Will.
  • Submit completed form through email (fire.foia@fairfaxcounty.gov), fax, or in person.
  • Medical Records will not be emailed back to requestor due to Privacy HIPAA Laws. Requestor must provide valid fax number or mailing address to  return requested HIPAA protected documents.

 

Subpoena (Duces Tecum and Witness) Request - Any summons issued for Medical Records requires a Notice to Providers and a Notice to Patient in accordance with §32.1-127.1:03.

 

Fairfax County Fire & Rescue
FOIA/EMS Record 5th Floor
12099 Government Center Parkway
Fairfax VA 22035
Direct Fax: 703-246-6096

 

EMS Transport Billing
Emergency Medical Service (EMS) transport billing began on April 1, 2005 in Fairfax County. If you need to request an itemized billing statement, provide insurance information regarding your transport, or have specific questions about your bill, please contact the County's billing service McKesson at 1-866-378-0419, Fax #937-291-0236. If you still have concerns about your bill, please contact us via email at EMSTransportBilling@fairfaxcounty.gov or call us at 703-246-2266.

 

Fire Marshal Record Requests
Includes fire & building inspections reports, notices of violation, plans & shop drawings, hazardous materials storage tank records, hazardous materials & environmental assessment, fire investigation reports, etc., are now submitted using a Fire Marshal request form found on the Fire Marshal's webpage, follow this link https://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/fire-ems/fire-marshal.

 

How to find the Hydrant and Fire & Rescue Station closest to your property..

To assist you in determining this hydrant and station information, send an email request to the department's Geographic Information System (GIS) office via email at fire.gis@fairfaxcounty.gov. Provide the property address and your email address, and ask for the station name, address, and phone number that would respond first-due as well as the distance to the closest hydrant. A response will be sent to your email address.