(Note: There are two separate processes.)
Returned checks and returned ACH payments are subject to a $50 fee (see Fairfax County Code § 1-1-17).
When an accident occurs, the affected elevator must be removed from service immediately. Contact the county at 855-511-2847, TTY 711 and fill out the Notification of Elevator Accident form to report the time, date and description of accident; address and elevator number and contact information. A county inspection will be performed at which time the affected equipment can go back into service if no violations are found.
Vertical transportation, not only vertical but also horizontal, is a means of travel, transporting people and or freight in and outside of buildings. There are approximately 7,000 vertical transportation equipment in Fairfax County. This equipment refers to elevators, lifts, escalators, dumbwaiters, hoists, and moving walks.
A valid Virginia State Contractor's License with an EEC or other appropriate designations from the Virginia Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation is needed for all scopes of work.
Electrical wiring diagrams not needed for review shall be at the jobsite for inspections.
All the above are required for construction personnel hoists; in addition, a signed/sealed letter from the building design professional is required. Hoists are permitted for a duration of 90 days.
STEP 1) Permit application submitted online, allow 10 business days for processing.
STEP 2) Check status online while plans are under review.
STEP 3) Upon Apporval, permit fees will be assessed and added to the permit number. It is the responsibility of the applicant to track the progress of their permit and pay the fees once assessed to limit the delay in permit issuance. Upon payment, the applicant can email county staff to ensure notification and prompt issuance of the permit and plans.
STEP 4) Applicant shall print the permit/approved plans and have them onsite prior to work commencing, failure to have permits and plans onsite shall result in fines and/or failed inspections.
STEP 5) Following commencement of work performed, the owner/owner agent/maintenance representative shall call ATIS to schedule inspection. Equipment returned to service prior to inspection shall result in fines and/or legal consequences. Performed work shall be “Inspection Ready” at the time of inspection; if not, the result will be failed and re-inspection fees will apply.
STEP 6) All inspection results are sent electronically to the Owner Agent’s email on file and the Owner’s physical address via USPS within one business day. Inspection results can be requested by emailing or calling 703-631-5101.
Most permit applications are processed within a 10-15 day review period. However, certain select scopes of work may qualify for a faster review process which can be done within 48 hours*.
*48 Hours is subject to staffing and workloads, as well as completeness of submission package.
New and existing vertical transportation equipment are subject to annual and or periodic inspections as described below.
Six months from the equipment’s diary month, Fairfax County will conduct a visual periodic inspection.
Prior to the expiration date of the Certificate of Inspections, an annual inspection with ATIS at 703-543-9966, TTY 711, or via email. The owner’s agent or property manager must be present during inspection.
Failure to schedule an inspection will result in fines and/or a mandatory removal of service for the elevator.
Any violations noted in your periodic (six-month) inspection will show in your annual inspection. If the items are still unaddressed at that time, your system will not pass the annual inspection and will require a re-inspection with associated fees.
Change of Owner/
It is the responsibility of the current property owner to inform the county of a change in ownership or designated agent (responsible party). Failure to update this information can result in fines. Submit owner/agent changes.
Failure to Comply
The Virginia Maintenance Code requires all vertical transportation to have a valid/current certificate posted at all times per county policy. Elevator inspections are documented by an inspection report which fulfills the requirement of the Virginia Maintenance Code. Fairfax County has the authority to issue a Notice of Violation and remove the equipment from service for the safety of Fairfax County residents and visitors.
Elevator Plan Review and Inspections for new and existing elevators are conducted by ATIS Elevator Inspections, LLC, on behalf of Fairfax County.
Schedule an inspection online. All inspections are scheduled electronically to ensure accuracy and efficiency.
For questions regarding inspection or plan review results, call 703-543-9966, TTY 711, or email.
12000 Government Center Pkwy
Fairfax, VA 22035