Fairfax County, Virginia

CONTACT INFORMATION: Our office is open 8:00 AM-4:30 PM M-F

TTY 711

4050 Legato Road, Suite 400
Fairfax, VA 22033

Tom Biesiadny,

Route 28 Tax District Governance

News and Updates

The Route 28 Commission will meet Friday, March 19, 2021, at 8:30 a.m., for an online virtual meeting.

  • Meeting Announcement

  • Meeting Agenda

  • Attend the meeting

    • To register to attend the meeting online click here.

    • To call in to the meeting by phone, call: 1-844-621-3956; Enter access code: 129 682 8812

  • View the meeting recording (available a few days after the meeting)

The Advisory Board meets annually in March at the call of the chairman. If other meetings are necessary, the chairman sends out a notice calling for a meeting. The Commission meets annually a few weeks after the Advisory Board's annual meeting in March.

The Route 28 Landowners Advisory Board met on Tuesday, March 2, 2021, at 11 a.m., for an online virtual meeting.


In 1987, the Boards of Supervisors of Fairfax and Loudoun Counties created the Route 28 Highway Transportation Improvement District to fund improvements to Route 28 including widening and construction of ten (10), grade-separated interchanges. The district is governed by a commission comprised of four (4) members each from the Loudoun and Fairfax Boards of Supervisors and the Commonwealth of Virginia’s Secretary of Transportation.

Fairfax County
John W. Foust, Vice-Chairman
Jeff McKay
Walter Alcorn
Kathy Smith

Loudoun County
Koran T. Saines, Chairman
Sylvia Glass
Matthew F. Letourneau
Phyllis Randall

Virginia Department of Transportation
John Lawson (on behalf of Secretary Shannon Valentine)

Advisory Board

The commission is advised by an advisory board comprised of twelve (12) taxpayer representatives. In accordance with Virginia Code Section 33.2-2104, six (6) of the advisory board members (three (3) from each county) are elected by the taxpaying landowners in the district to serve four-year terms Of the six from each county, three are selected by the corresponding Boards and three are elected by the landowners in each county to serve four-year terms.  Members appointed or elected to the Route 28 Tax District Advisory Board must own or represent a landowner of commercial or industrial property within the boundaries of the Route 28 Highway Transportation Improvement District. The most recently elected members who began their terms in January 2020 and are serving through January 2024, are:

Fairfax County

Scott Crabtree, Pohanka
Jeff Fairfield, Jeffrey Fairfield, PC
Leo Titus, Jr., ECS Mid-Atlantic, LLC
Bill Matarazzo, Corporate Office Properties, LP
Pete McCabe, Pruitt Corporation
William Keech Jr., The Keech Company

Loudoun County

Matthew Scholtes, Digital Realty
Michael Huber,  Belfort Furniture
Craig Fritsche, Jr., Tart Lumber
Mary Beth Avedesian, B. F. Saul Company
Ted Lewis, GeoConcepts Engineering
James Policaro, Lerner Enterprises

Fairfax Virtual Assistant