Department of Family Services

CONTACT INFORMATION: Monday–Friday 8 a.m.–4:30 p.m.
703-324-7500 TTY 711
12011 Government Center Parkway, Pennino Building
Fairfax, VA 22035
Michael A. Becketts

Council to End Domestic Violence

Council to End Domestic Violence banner graphic

No one agency, organization or individual can address and end domestic violence alone. It takes the engagement of an entire community to do this. The coordinated community response in Fairfax County brings together key players countywide to identify and address any gaps in our system of support, develop strategies and approaches to enhance our community’s and systems’ response to domestic violence and sexual assault. The response in Fairfax is multifaceted and made up of numerous coordinating groups, including the Council to End Domestic Violence.

The Council to End Domestic Violence (CEDV) brings together senior level public officials and community leaders to take action against and guide the development of a coordinated and collaborative community response to domestic violence. The 50-member Council also advises the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors, providing recommendations and keeping them abreast of the status of domestic violence locally.

The CEDV, founded in 2003 under the original Domestic Violence Prevention, Policy and Coordinating Council moniker, is affiliated with Fairfax County Domestic and Sexual Violence Services (DSVS), which provides staffing and support. 

Members work in collaboration with other coordinated community response bodies such as the Domestic Violence Network, the Step Up 4 Kids Coalition, the Lethality Assessment Program (LAP) Team, the Domestic Violence Action Center, and more to achieve the following goals: 

  • Engage the community in a collective response for the prevention and intervention of domestic violence.
  • Support victim safety and autonomy and promote offender accountability and an opportunity for those who use violence offenders to eliminate violent behavior in all forms.
  • Increase coordination and consistency of system and community interventions and service provision.
  • Advise the Board of Supervisors on policy and legislative priorities for improving the county's response to domestic violence.

The Council is comprised of elected officials, leaders of county public safety, public schools, judiciary, and human service agencies, and community members representing the faith community, non-profit organizations and local universities.

  • Maha Abejuela
  • Gloria Addo-Ayensu, M.D.
  • Ambreen Ahmed
  • Thomas Arnold
  • Penney Azcarate
  • Thomas Barnett
  • Michael Becketts 
  • Nyle Berkeley
  • David Bernhard
  • Alycia Blackwell
  • Dominic Bonaiuto
  • Michelle Boyd
  • Theresa Brion
  • Karla Bruce
  • John S. Butler
  • Dawn Butorac 
  • Ramona Carroll
  • John Cook
  • Kevin Davis
  • Maggie A. DeBoard (Col.)
  • Stephen Descano
  • Clarence Dickens II
  • Andrew Elders
  • Alyssa Emery
  • Razan Fayez 
  • Saly Fayez
  • James Ferguson
  • Geneviève Fine
  • Paula Fitzgerald
  • Jonathan Frieden
  • Andrew Goldberg
  • Lia Greenwood
  • Kader Gumus
  • Jhumka Gupta
  • Judith Helein
  • Mery Juarez
  • Amanda Katz
  • Stacey Kincaid
  • Rachna Krishnan
  • Nicole Lawrie
  • Christopher Leonard
  • Nora Mahoney
  • Lisa Mayne
  • Brenda McBorrough
  • Kelly McDonough
  • Joe Meyer
  • Pia Miller
  • Jamie Milloy
  • James Morris (Col.)
  • Roy Oliver 
  • Corie O'Rourke
  • Cecilia Ortega-Shew        
  • Derwin Overton
  • Dalia Palchick
  • Mattie Palmore
  • Todd Petit
  • Christopher Revere
  • Lisa Sales
  • Erin Schaible
  • Amy Schwartzman
  • Susan Shainline
  • Dipti Pidikiti-Smith
  • Katrina Smith
  • Thomas P. Sotelo
  • Susan Stoney
  • K. Leigh Taylor
  • Elizabeth Teare
  • Matt Thompson
  • Adarsh Trehan
  • James Walkinshaw
  • Daryl Washington
  • Phylicia Woods
  • Toni Zollicoffer

The Fairfax County Council to End Domestic Violence is seeking three volunteer leadership positions: a Chairperson, a Vice Chairperson, and a Community Leader and Organizer to serve a 3-year term. Learn more about these positions.

Learn about CEDV and its committees upcoming and past meetings – information, recordings and more.

CEDV Contact
Domestic and Sexual Violence Services Staff: Stacy Ziebell Email

Back to top

Fairfax Virtual Assistant