Vehicle Taxes & Fees

Fairfax County, Virginia

CONTACT INFORMATION: In order to ensure everyone's safety during the pandemic, please connect with us virtually. Use our website, send an email, or call us weekdays from 8AM to 4:30PM. We are open for walk-in traffic Mondays, Wednesdays, and Fridays 9AM to 3PM.

703-222-8234
TTY 711

12000 Government Center Parkway, Suite 223
Fairfax, VA 22035

Juan Rengel,
Division Director

Vehicle Tax Rate

Vehicle Personal Property Tax

The tax rate for most vehicles is $4.57 per $100 of assessed value.

For properties included in a special subclass, the tax rate is $0.01 per $100 of assessed value. This special subclass includes the following:

  • privately-owned vans used for van pools
  • vehicles belonging to volunteer fire and rescue squad members
  • vehicles specifically equipped for the handicapped
  • automobiles and pick-up trucks owned by certain qualifying seniors and people with disabilities
  • vehicles owned by qualified disabled veterans
  • vehicles owned by auxiliary police officers
  • vehicles owned by auxiliary deputy sheriffs
  • aircraft
  • antique motor vehicles
  • boats
  • certain property owned by homeowners' associations

Vehicles with Out-of-State License Plates

No Plate Tax: $100 is assessed annually on vehicles that do not display current Virginia license plates as required by law. (Fairfax County Code Article 17.3 Section 1 & 2)

No Plate Penalty: $250 is assessed annually on vehicles that do not display current Virginia license plates as required by law. This penalty is in addition to the $100 No Plate Tax. (Fairfax County Code Article 17.3 Section 5)

Fairfax Virtual Assistant