Tax Administration (DTA)

Fairfax County, Virginia

CONTACT INFORMATION: DTA is open 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. For your convenience, our full service counter is open until 6:30 p.m. on Thursdays for walk-in customers.

703-222-8234
TTY 711

12000 Government Center Parkway, Suite 223
Fairfax, VA 22035

Jay Doshi,
Director

Parking Tickets

View Parking Photo Online

Pay Parking Tickets Online

Other Payment Options

Please mail the copy of the ticket with your payment or bring it with you to make payment.

Please note: if the fine is not paid within 21 days after the ticket is issued, a late payment fine of $25 will be added.

Disputing a parking ticket

You have 21 days to dispute a parking ticket. Once you have a set court date, you are no longer eligible to prepay the ticket at the Government Center. DTA cannot remove or adjust a court date, once a court date is set.

Court Dates

Parking tickets are out-sourced to a private collection company called Citation Management. Citation Management staff will assist you in getting a court date established. To select a court date and obtain the required affidavit, call (toll free) 1-866-353-0452 and use agency code 6201.

Court dates are assigned based on officer availability. Each Police Officer has only one court date a month. Once you have a set court date, you will be mailed or faxed an affidavit that establishes your agreement to appear on that date to present your case. You must sign and return the affidavit before the court date will be entered in the Traffic Court's Docket.

The General District Court is located at 4110 Chain Bridge Road, Fairfax, VA 22030. On the day of your hearing, you must arrive by 9:00 a.m. When you arrive in the lobby, check the docket to determine which courtroom has been assigned to the hearing.

If you cannot appear on your assigned court date, contact the General District Court at 703-246-3764. The Court will decide what course of action you must take.

If you fail to appear for your assigned court date and/or are found guilty, you will be ordered to pay the fine and court costs. Failure to pay may result in your Virginia driver’s license being revoked.

If you decide to prepay the ticket once a court date has been set, you must go to the Traffic Office in the General District Court; additional fees will apply.

Fairfax County Code § 82-5-41 grants authority to the Police Department to tow vehicles owing three or more outstanding parking citations.

If your vehicle is towed by a Fairfax County contract tow company

Before a vehicle can be released from a tow lot, all outstanding balances owed to the county must be paid.

Contact the Department of Tax Administration (DTA) at 703-222-8234 for payoff balances of outstanding taxes, fines, and fees for which the vehicle was towed. In addition to any taxes, fines, and fees owed, you are responsible for all tow and storage charges associated with the tow. All payments for impounded vehicles must be certified funds (cash, credit card, money order, or cashier’s check).

Once all outstanding taxes, fines, and fees are paid, you must contact DTA at 703-222-8234 and DTA will authorize the release of your vehicle from the tow lot.

If you do not call for the release of your vehicle during our normal work hours (Monday - Friday between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m.), you risk incurring additional storage fees, should your vehicle remain on the tow lot for any additional days or over a weekend.

If your vehicle is towed because it was considered abandoned

If you do not claim your vehicle within 40 days, the tow company will apply for an abandoned title.

This is allowed under Fairfax County Code § 82-5-29.


More information about parking programs, restrictions, and related issues