Public Works and Environmental Services

Fairfax County, Virginia

CONTACT INFORMATION: Our office is open 8 a.m. – 4:30 p.m., Monday - Friday

TTY 711

12055 Government Center Parkway
Suite 518, Fairfax, Va 22035

Brian Keightley,
Division Director, Urban Forest Management

Tree Commission

What We Do

The Tree Commission is made up of a body of volunteers who are appointed by the Board of Supervisors as well as representatives from county and state agencies. They provide advice to the board on matters relating to urban forestry and leadership in promoting tree conservation within the county.

For more information, email or call the Urban Forest Management Division at 703-324-1770, TTY 711.

What You Can Do

Meeting Information

The commission meets the third Thursday of every month, except August, in Room 122 of the Herrity Building from 7:30 p.m. - 9:30 p.m.

Nominate a Tree, Individuals or Organizations for an Award

Current Topics

green leaves on a tree

Urban Forestry Efforts

Related Topics

About Us

Despite urbanization, tree canopy covers more than 50 percent of Fairfax County. To maintain and ensure regeneration of that cover, the county Board of Supervisors relies on the 15-member Tree Commission for advice regarding urban forest conservation and preservation.

In 2006, the Tree Commission led the development of the Tree Action Plan (TAP), a 20-year strategy for conserving and managing the county’s urban forest. In coordination with the county Urban Forest Management Division and other county agencies, the Tree Commission is working to implement TAP’s goals. Among these programs are a working group to improve tree conservation on public land and a community outreach program, the Celebrated Trees of Fairfax County.

The Tree Commission collaborates with the Fairfax County Environmental Quality Advisory Council, Fairfax County Tree Stewards, Fairfax Releaf, Virginia Department of Forestry, Virginia Cooperative Extension, Fairfax County Park Authority and Fairfax County Urban Forest Management Division.

Watch the TreeCity USA Magazine Segment Video at


Current Members:

Commission Member District/Agency Representing
Monica Billger At Large
Jeanne Kadet Braddock
Robert Vickers Dranesville
Dragan Momcilovic Hunter Mill
Jessica Bowser Lee
Kevin Holland Mason
Catherine Ledec Mount Vernon, Chair
Jerry Peters NVSWCD
John Stokely FCPA
Vacant Providence
Charles Rick Ayers Springfield
Karen Campblin Sully
Jim Mcglone VA Department of Forestry, Vice Chairman
Vacant Virginia Cooperative Extension
Richard (Rick) Healy EQAC

Tree Commission Meeting Minutes