Business Taxes

Fairfax County, Virginia

CONTACT INFORMATION: DTA is open 8:00 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. For your convenience, our full service counter is open until 6:30 p.m. on Thursdays for walk-in customers.

12000 Government Center Parkway, Suite 261
Fairfax, VA 22035

Juan Rengel,
Division Director

Other County Licenses

In addition to Business, Professional and Occupational licenses (BPOL), some businesses are required to obtain an additional license and pay a tax. If you are subject to any of these taxes, you must file and pay annually by January 31.


Automobile Graveyard (Fairfax County Code § 21-1-2)

Any person who operates or maintains an automobile graveyard must obtain a license and pay a tax. An automobile graveyard is any lot or place exposed to the weather where five or more vehicles are stored. These vehicles are not operable and can’t be or won’t be repaired.

There are specific zoning requirements for operating an auto graveyard. Any part of the area within 1,000 feet of any highway must be completely surrounded by a fence or hedge, as specified by county code. In addition, no motor vehicle, scrap, or junk can be placed outside the fence or piled higher than the fence.

The annual license tax for operating an automobile graveyard is $50. Payment of the tax is remitted with the annual filing by January 31 each year. Failure to file and pay will result in a 10 percent penalty.

Car graveyard

Bondsman (Fairfax County Code § 23-1-2)

Any person who engages in the business of entering into any bond for others for compensation must obtain a license. The county does not require agents of a bondsman to obtain a license; however, the agents are required to obtain a certificate from the judge of the circuit court stating that the agent is of good moral character and is entitled to act as an agent for the bondsman.

Guaranty, indemnity, fidelity, and security companies doing business in Virginia as an insurance company are not subject to this tax.

The annual license tax for bondsmen is $30. Payment of the tax is remitted with the annual filing by January 31 each year. Failure to file and pay will result in a 10 percent penalty.

Dance Hall (Fairfax County Code § 27-1-4)

Any business operating an establishment in Fairfax County that is open to the public and permits public dancing must obtain a license and pay a tax. If the dancing is permitted only in rooms reserved for private parties, the establishment is not required to obtain a license. In addition, if the dance is held for charitable or benevolent purposes or under the auspices of religious, educational, civic, or military organizations, no license is required.

The annual license tax for dance halls is $100. Payment of the tax is remitted with the annual filing by January 31 each year. Failure to file and pay will result in a 10 percent penalty.

Fortune Teller (Fairfax County Code § 4-12-1)

Any person who receives compensation for telling fortunes, acts as a clairvoyant, practices palmistry or phrenology, or acts as a spirit medium or astrologist must obtain a license and pay a tax.

The annual license tax for these activities is $500. Payment of the tax is remitted with the annual filing by January 31 each year.

Mixed Beverage (Fairfax County Code § 4-9-1)

Any person located in Fairfax County who holds a mixed beverage license granted by the Commonwealth of Virginia is also subject to a local mixed beverage license. This includes restaurants located within hotels and motels.

The license tax is based on the seating capacity of the restaurant:

  • The tax for businesses with a seating capacity of 50-100 is $200.
  • The tax for businesses with a seating capacity of 101-150 is $350.
  • The tax for businesses with a seating capacity over 150 is $500.
  • The tax for a private, non-profit club operating a restaurant on the premises of the club is $350. The non-profit classification by the State Alcoholic Beverage Control Board (ABC) determines the non-profit status for local license applicants.

The tax is prorated if the business moves into Fairfax County after January 1; however, if the business moves out of the county after January 1, the tax is not prorated.

Payment of the tax is remitted with the annual filing by January 31 each year.

Circus

Circuses/Carnivals (Fairfax County Code § 25-1-1)

Every person exhibiting performances in a side show, dog and pony show, trained animal show, circus and menagerie, or any other similar show, exhibition, or performance must obtain a license and pay a tax. The tax amount for the license varies depending on the type and length of the exhibition:

  • The tax amount for circuses, dog and pony shows, trained animal shows and menageries or other similar shows is $50 per day or $250 per week.
  • The tax amount for carnivals that DO NOT require a special use permit is $200 per day or $1,000 per week.
  • The tax amount for carnivals that DO require a special use permit is $10 per day or $25 per week.

In addition to this license tax, operators of circuses, carnivals, and other similar activities must obtain a BPOL license.


You may download the application for Other County Licenses for the current and three prior years from our Forms page.

Questions regarding any of these license taxes may be sent to the Personal Property and Business License Division at dtappdbusiness@fairfaxcounty.gov or by calling 703-222-8234, option 3.