Taxes are assessed based on the calendar year (January 1 to December 31) or any portion of the year during which you are liable for the tax.
Omitted bills cover newly assessed prior year taxes not previously billed.
Tax bills are mailed approximately 30 days prior to the payment due date.
If your real estate taxes are set up to be paid by your mortgage company, you will not receive a bill in the mail. DTA utilizes an automated billing and payment program through which lending institutions nationwide request and pay Fairfax County real estate taxes. Since the mortgage companies are billed electronically, requested parcels are excluded from the paper billing process. If you receive a real estate tax bill that is supposed to be paid by an escrow account, please contact your mortgage company to ensure payment. If you’ve recently paid off your mortgage, you should receive a bill and will be responsible for paying your taxes by the due date.
You may view your tax information online or request a copy of the bill by emailing firstname.lastname@example.org or calling 703-222-8234. Failure to receive a bill does not exempt you from the obligation to ensure your taxes are paid by the due date.
In Fairfax County, the vehicle tax on cars, trucks, motorcycles, and vans is prorated to reflect the time the vehicle was normally garaged in the county. Upon notification that a property has been moved or sold, we will adjust your account to ensure that your motor vehicle is taxed accurately. The bill covers the portion of the calendar year for which you are liable.
Vehicles which are moved out of Fairfax County to a non-prorating Virginia jurisdiction during the tax year are not prorated.
Under Virginia law, real property is assessed for the entire year in the name of the owner as of January 1 of the year. The purchaser at a sale is required to see that the proceeds from the sale are applied at settlement to any taxes and levies assessed on the real estate. The liability is prorated between the buyer and the seller, but the lien which arises from delinquency attaches to the land. The settlement attorney must ascertain all taxes due and prorate them for payment out of settlement. Questions concerning what was collected at settlement should be directed to the settlement attorney.
Vehicle and business tangible property taxes have filing deadlines in addition to payment deadlines. Vehicles must be filed with the county within 60 days of purchase or move-in to avoid the late filing fee. Businesses must file tangible personal property by May 1 to avoid the late filing fee.
Even if the dealership or leasing company offers a service to register your vehicle with the Virginia DMV, it will not automatically be filed timely with Fairfax County. You are responsible for ensuring your vehicle is filed with the county within the 60-day deadline.
The local registration fee is a separate fee that must be paid to the county. It is different from your DMV registration fee, which is paid to the state.
The due date for your tax bill depends on what type of tax is being billed. The main due dates are as follows. If the due date falls on a weekend, an extension will be granted up through the end of the next business day.
- Most bills due October 5
- If you registered with Fairfax County after July 1, your bill will be due February 15 of the following calendar year. All subsequent bills for the property will be due on October 5.
Real Estate Taxes:
- First Installment (January – June) due July 28
- Second Installment (July – December) due December 5
- Business License (BPOL): File and pay by March 1
- Business Tangible Property: Due October 5
For a full list of due dates, please refer to our Due Dates and Deadlines page.
Payments must be received or postmarked by the due date. Any unpaid balance after the due date (or received with a later postmark) is considered late and will be assessed late payment penalties and interest. There is no grace period.
If you are having financial difficulty and cannot pay the balance in full, we encourage you to pay as much as possible by the due date. Any amount not paid by the due date will be assessed late payment penalties and interest and may also become subject to additional collection fees. For more information, please refer to our Missed A Due Date page.