Sheriff's Office

Fairfax County, Virginia


TTY 711

4110 Chain Bridge Road
Fairfax, VA 22030

Stacey A. Kincaid,

College Scholarship for Criminal Justice Majors

January 22, 2020

Are you enrolled at a Virginia college or university? Are you majoring in a criminal justice field? And are you a resident of Fairfax County, the City of Fairfax, the Town of Herndon or the Town of Vienna? If you answered "yes" to these three questions, then you may be eligible to apply for a college scholarship from the Virginia Sheriffs' Institute (VSI) Scholarship Program through the Fairfax County Sheriff's Office. Scholarships are available to both full- and part-time students.

As part of the application process, Fairfax County Sheriff Stacey Kincaid must submit a letter of recommendation on your behalf. Read about last year's winners!

To get started:

  • Please review the scholarship eligibility criteria and application checklist at
  • As you fill out the application, please email Kelly Hartle at the Sheriff's Office no later than April 6, 2020 to schedule a meeting with Sheriff Kincaid regarding the letter of recommendation to go with your application. You will be asked to provide information about your school and extra-curricular activities/achievements prior to the scheduled meeting.

  • Once you speak with Sheriff Kincaid and receive your letter of recommendation, include it with your application.

  • The application and required attachments must be at the Virginia Sheriffs' Institute by May 1, 2020.

Founded in 1981, the Virginia Sheriffs' Institute is a non-profit professional and educational organization. In 2019, the VSI Scholarship Committee awarded 93 scholarships to students across Virginia -- $1,000 for full-time students and $500 for part-time students. The number of scholarships awarded each year varies depending on the number of eligible students and the amount of money that is raised.

Sheriff Kincaid is a member of the Virginia Sheriffs' Institute and participates in the scholarship fundraising efforts.

REMINDER: Email Kelly Hartle at the Sheriff's Office by April 6, 2020. Submit your application to VSI by May 1, 2020. Read about our 2019 scholarship winners.

Fairfax Virtual Assistant