Members of the community and local leaders gathered at Colvin Run Mill on Sunday, May 2, 2021, to celebrate the official opening of the new waterwheel and flume. Following remarks that celebrated the mill’s rich history, attendees counted down for miller Stephen Golobic to officially open the flume, release the water and allow the great wheel to start turning. Special guests on hand included descendants of Goldie Millard, who was the first of the Millard children born in Virginia (March 5, 1884). The Millards owned and operated the mill from 1883-1934.
The mill is the sole surviving example of a 19th century mill in the D.C. area. The renovation project included removal of the mill’s old wood wheel and the wood flume that carried water to the wheel. Both had deteriorated after years of use, and a new wood wheel and flume were fabricated and installed. The $382,000 project was funded through voter-approved Park Bonds.
Pictured from left to right are: Sarah Oberther, Acting Manager, Colvin Run Mill; Mary Olien, Operations Branch Manager, FCPA Resource Management Division; Heather Lynch, Project Manager, FCPA Planning & Development; Carole Herrick, Dranesville Representative, Fairfax County History Commission; Jane Edmondson, Chief of Staff, Dranesville District Supervisor John Foust; Gene Bacher, Friends of Colvin Run Mill; Kathy Hummer, family of Goldie Millard; Ed Hummer, family of Goldie Millard; Timothy Hackman, Dranesville District Representative, Park Authority Board; Dan Dyke, President, Friends of Colvin Run Mill; Mike Henry, Former Colvin Run Mill Manager and member of Friends of Colvin Run Mill; Maggie Godbold, Sully District Representative, Park Authority Board; Sara Baldwin, FCPA Acting Executive Director; Stephanie Leedom, FCPA Director of Planning & Development; Kelly Millard, family of Goldie Millard.
A livestream of the event may be found on the Park Authority’s Facebook page.
Media Note: Click the photo to download.
See more photos at the Park Authority's Flickr page.