Office of Environmental and Energy Coordination

Fairfax County, Virginia

CONTACT INFORMATION: Our office is open 8:30AM-5PM M-F

TTY 711

12000 Government Center Pkwy, Suite 533
Fairfax, VA 22035

Kambiz Agazi,

Joint Environmental Task Force

The Joint Environmental Task Force, or JET, was formed in April 2019 by the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors and the Fairfax County School Board. The JET's mission is to join the political and administrative capabilities of the county and the school system to proactively address climate change and environmental sustainability. 

JET meetings are held monthly, generally on the first Wednesday of the month. Meeting information and materials can be found here.

The JET aims to set and meet aggressive goals in areas of common influence such as workforce development, infrastructure and sustainability of public facilities and transportation, land use planning, communication, and community engagement. The JET provides a forum for collaboration and alignment of institutional policies and practices.

Since its inception, the JET has organized subcommittees around four specific focus areas: Energy, Transportation, Waste Reduction/Recycling, and Workforce Development. More information on the mission and focus areas of the JET is available here.

In October 2020, the JET issued a final report with recommendations from each of the four subcommittees.

Graphic representation of the Joint Environmental Task Force

The JET is composed of 13 members from the Board of Supervisors, the School Board, and the community at large. A full list of members is below.

Executive Board

Supervisor Dan Storck

Supervisor Penny Gross

School Board Member Elaine Tholen

School Board Member Karl Frisch

Task Force Members

Richard Aiken

Karen Campblin

Richard Clayton

Meg Mall

Susan Stillman

Smita Chandra Thomas

Greg Ulses

Task Force Student Members

Wendy Gao

Ire Kim


Fairfax Virtual Assistant