Board of Supervisors - Mount Vernon District

CONTACT INFORMATION: Our office is open 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m. M-F, TH 8:30 a.m. - 7:30 p.m., 2nd SAT (each month except August) 9 a.m. - 3 p.m.
703-780-7518 TTY 711
Mount Vernon Governmental Center
2511 Parkers Lane, Mt. Vernon, VA 22306
Dan Storck
Board of Supervisor

Lord and Lady Fairfax

The Lord and Lady Fairfax Awards Program yearly honors two volunteer leaders from each Magisterial District. The honorees are selected for their outstanding volunteer service in their home districts or for an act of heroism. This year's Lord and Lady are introduced below, and at the bottom of this page is a list of all the honorees from Mount Vernon.

Maria Severa Pangelinan Lady Fairfax 2022Maria Severa Pangelinan

Maria Severa Pangelinan is a stalwart leader and constant smiling face as the Volunteer Fire Chief at Lorton Station #19. Maria has been volunteering since March of 2019 and was named Chief in May of 2021. She was instrumental in supporting the Lorton firefighting team through the recent extensive construction process of a new station. Among other responsibilities, Maria helped coordinate the many transitions to open a new station, organized community activities at the grand opening, and played an important part in keeping up moral along the way. Maria has earned a fair share of awards such as the 2022 Fairfax County Fire and Rescue Operational Officer of the Year, the 2021 President’s Volunteer Service Award and the Mount Vernon Lee Chamber of Commerce 2021 Volunteer Provider of the Year Award. Maria is a graduate of South County High School and a recent George Mason University graduate where she received her Bachelor of Science in Biology. Her next steps are to continue volunteering at the Fire Station and apply to Physicians Assistant school next year. When Maria isn’t volunteering, she works full time as an EMT-B interfacility transport technician. Maria always knew she wanted to volunteer with the fire department and give back to the community. Her passion to help others and ease people’s minds during difficult times is something we need more of in our community. Thank you, Maria, for your service and we all know you have a very bright future!

Jeff Gauger Lord Fairfax 2022Jeff Gauger

Jeff Gauger is a tireless volunteer, and by tireless, I mean he bikes to work most days from Mount Vernon to the District of Columbia! Jeff’s passion for biking has led him to be our most outstanding volunteer for the Annual Tour de Mount Vernon Community Bike Ride year after year. He helps chart the route (which changes every year), rides it to ensure it works, completely manages the volunteers, helps coordinate rider partners, participates in weekly planning meetings and then rides the entire ride as the ride sweep, making sure no one is left behind! Not only that, but he is always happy to help wherever asked, has a smile on his face and offers great suggestions. Jeff also volunteers as the Vice-President of the Board for the Fairfax Alliance for Better Biking (FABB), on trail projects for the Friends of the Mount Vernon Trail and on the inaugural Tour de Hunter Mill. He works to improve pedestrian and bicycle safety through his advocacy for local trails in our region, representing FABB on the Capital Trail Coalition of Northern Virginia, and by volunteering to do pedestrian counts for the Fairfax County Department of Transportation (FCDOT). Thank you for all you do to advance pedestrian and bike safety, and better trails in our communities, Jeff!


Former Mount Vernon District
Lords and Ladies Fairfax 


Lord Fairfax

Lady Fairfax

2021 Keary Kincannon Lisa Sales
2019 Bill Vaughan Jan Vaughan
2018 Barney Barnwell Cathy Ledec
2017 Dale Rumberger Mattie Palmore
2016 Larry Clark Marcia Hanson
2015 Martin Tillet Elisabeth Lardner
2014 COL Gregory Gadson Mary Porter
2013 Jeff Todd Becky Todd
2012 Jim Rees Diana York
2011 Dale Johnson Barbara Sullivan
2010 Linwood Gorham Glenda Booth
2009 Gil McCutcheon Christine Morin
2008 Frank Cohn Susan Fremit
2007 Marvin Miller Elizabeth I. Promen
2006 Mack Rhoades Susan Aheron Magill
2005 Tim Sargeant Louise Cleveland
2004 Joe Chudzik Harriet Piper
2003 Neal F. McBride Diane Donley
2002 Charlie Creighton Beryl A. Harman
2001 John F. "Jack" Knowles Irma A. Clifton
2000 Sy Berdux Mary Jo Tandy
1999 Earl Flanagan Queenie Cox
1998 Phil Downs Betty McManus
1997 John Byers Joyce D. Andrews
1996 Warren Cikins Henley Gibble
1995 Eugene L. Krizek Adeline R. Krizek
1994 Thomas W. Chadwick Louise L. Meade
1993 Henry B. Norton, Jr. Christa H. Hellberg-Cook
1992 Raymond W. Philipps Gertrude L. Wright
1991 Colonel David Bolte Ruth R. Freaney
1990 Arthur W. Friedberg Anne A. Andrews
1989 Colonel Robert Hardiman Virginia A. Weber
1988 Albert J. Perry Emily Myatt
1987 Joseph T. Adinaro A. Virginia Dupart
1986 Curtis Shufflebarger, Jr. Virginia Shufflebarger
1985 Brigadier General Lyon Helen Lyon
1984 Joseph Flakne Eleanor Kennedy


Fairfax Virtual Assistant