Office for Children - Community Education and Provider Services

Fairfax County, Virginia

CONTACT INFORMATION: Monday - Friday 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

703-324-8100
TTY 711

Pennino Building, 12011 Government Center Parkway, 8th Floor
Fairfax, VA 22035

H. Jene Moore,
Director

Apply for a Permit

banner community education and provider services adult interacting with children

Obtaining a family child care permit is the first step toward becoming a family child care provider in Fairfax County.

To apply for a permit, follow the seven steps below, and submit all four forms and additional documentation to the Fairfax County Office for Children. If you have any questions, call 703-324-8100.

 

STEP 1  Complete the Home Child Care Facility Application

Follow these instructions to complete the Child Care Facility Application form below.

  • Download the Home Child Care Facility Application form: English * Spanish *. This form must be completed along with the associated fee.
    * Fairfax County is committed to nondiscrimination in all county programs, services and activities. To request reasonable accommodations or to receive this information in an alternate format, call 703-324-8100 or TTY 711.
     
  • Throughout the form, when you are asked to write names, write full names and not just initials. Write N/A for "not applicable" if a person listed does not have a middle name or a maiden name.
     
  • Section B: Make sure you have listed all children who are age 13 or younger who live in your home.
     
  • Section C: List yourself, and any other adults, and children who are age 14 or older who may regularly be in your home while you are caring for children.
     
  • Section D: Fingerprint National Background Check
    Virginia State Law requires a Fingerprint National Background Check for each adult 18 years or older living in the home, including the applicant and all substitute care providers.
    • A $27 processing fee is required for each person needing a Fingerprint National Background Check. The background check processing fee is non-refundable.
    • Complete all information. Use full names, including middle name. Do not use any initials. If there is no middle or maiden name, write N/A (not applicable) in the space.
    • When child care providers have relatives and friends stay in their home for more than 30 calendar days, a Child Protective Services, Sworn Statement, Fingerprint National Background Check and Waiver Agreement and Statement form must be completed.
    • You must resubmit a Fingerprint National Background Check for each adult every 5 years.
    • The Fingerprint National Background Check results for each person must be free of any barrier crimes. See the Barrier Crimes handout for additional information.   
       
  • Make sure to sign the application.

 

Home Child Care Application Fees

Number of Adults Fingerprint
National
Background Check
fee/person
Application Fee
annual
Total Cost
1  Adult $27 $14 $41
2  Adults $54 $14 $68
3  Adults $81 $14 $95
4  Adults $108 $14 $122
5  Adults $135 $14 $149
6  Adults $162 $14 $176

 

The fees for your home child care application are as follows:
  • The “Home Child Care Facility Application” processing fee is $14.
     
  • Each “Fingerprint National Background Check” is $27, paid to OFC. The check covers the Virginia State Police and FBI searches.
     
  • This is required for each person 18 years or older living in your home, including the applicant and all substitute care providers.
     
  • The fees can be combined and paid in one personal check, money order or certified check payable to the Office for Children (OFC).
     
  • An additional $8.72 fee is required for each adult when you schedule a fingerprint appointment online. Please do not add this fee to the $27 payment. You will receive additional instructions once we receive the complete application.
     
  • There is a $50 fee for any check returned for insufficient fees or closed account.
     
  • You do not need to pay the $10 processing fee for the Child Protective Services Central Registry Release of Information form.
     
  • The application processing fee is non-refundable.

Back to top

STEP 2 – Complete the Child Protective Services Central Registry Release of Information Form

Follow these instructions to complete the Central Registry Release of Information form.

  • To request a copy of the CPS Release of Information Form, please email OFCCEPS@fairfaxcounty.gov or call 703-324-8100, TTY 711.
  • Only two-sided forms may be submitted. This form may not be faxed in; you must mail it or take it to the Office for Children.
  • Complete a separate form for yourself and each person age 14 or older who lives in your home. Write full names and not just initials. Write N/A for "not applicable" if a person you list does not have a middle name or maiden name.
  • Forms for children age 14 - 17 require a parent's signature.
  • This form must be notarized on the back by a notary public, with the notary number and commission expiration date.

Back to top

STEP 3 – Complete the Sworn Statement or Affirmation for Child Care Programs Form

Follow these instructions to complete the Sworn Statement or Affirmation for Child Care Programs form each year.

  • Download the Sworn Statement or Affirmation for Child Day Programs form: English * or Spanish *
    * Fairfax County is committed to nondiscrimination in all county programs, services and activities. To request reasonable accommodations or to receive this information in an alternate format, call 703-324-8100 or TTY 711.
     
  • Complete a separate form for yourself and each person age 18 or older who lives in your home. Write full names and not just initials. Write N/A for "not applicable" if a person you list does not have a middle name or maiden name.
     
  • Complete a Sworn Statement or Affirmation form for each adult 18 years or older living in the home, the applicant, and all substitute care providers.
     
  • Resubmit a Sworn Statement or Affirmation form every year at renewal for all adults in the home including their signatures.
     
  • A Sworn Statement or Affirmation form discloses whether or not the adult has been convicted of a crime or a criminal action is pending inside the state of Virginia or in other states. It also discloses whether or not the adult has been convicted of a Child Protective Services finding inside the state of Virginia or in other states.
     
  • If you, any adults 18 years or older living in the home, or any substitute care providers have lived in another state in the preceding five years, an out-of-state central registry or any other child abuse and neglect registry search must be submitted to the state(s) to obtain a copy of the results for any founded complaint(s) of child abuse and neglect.

You must answer truthfully or you can be barred from getting a permit for a year. Any conviction (pleading guilty to a charge) counts.

Back to top

STEP 4 –  Complete the Waiver Agreement and Statement Form for the Fingerprint National Background Check

Download the Waiver Agreement and Statement form: English *
* Fairfax County is committed to nondiscrimination in all county programs, services and activities. To request reasonable accommodations or to receive this information in an alternate format, call 703-324-8100 or TTY 711.

Each adult 18 years or older living in the home including the applicant and all substitute care providers, must submit a signed waiver granting the Office for Children permission to request and review results from the Fingerprint National Background Check. We will not be able to send you this information until we have a waiver and fee for each adult in your home. The check is repeated every five years.

Once you submit the waiver and the $27 per adult, we will send you instructions on where to go to get the fingerprints done. An additional $8.72 fee is required for each adult at the time you schedule the fingerprinting appointment online. Please do not add this fee to the $27 payment. You will receive additional instructions once we receive the completed application.

Back to top

STEP 5 –  Submit Completed Forms

  • Mail all four of the completed forms with the required payment to:

    Fairfax County Office for Children
    Community Education and Provider Services
    12011 Government Center Parkway, Suite 800
    Fairfax, VA 22035-1102

Back to top

STEP 6 – Additional Documents and Requirements

As part of the permit process, you must also comply with the following additional permit requirements.

  • Provide TB screening test results showing all adult household residents are free from tuberculosis.
  • Provide current certifications in First Aid and CPR. Here are a few of the organizations in our community that offer First Aid and CRP training and certification. Please note: online CPR and First Aid training will not be accepted as certification.
  • Have a written emergency plan and emergency supplies.
  • Have a written child care sick policy.
  • Have a satisfactory fire safety inspection by the Fire Code Official.
  • Have a satisfactory home health and safety visit by the child care specialist.
  • Have up-to-date rabies immunization records for dogs, cats and ferrets.
  • Have a smoke alarm.
  • Have a carbon monoxide alarm (if necessary).
  • Have all fireplaces, chimneys and wood stoves cleaned and inspected.

Back to top

STEP 7 – Maintaining Your Permit

When all the steps are completed, a permit will be issued within one month.

Once you receive your permit, you will need to comply with both the United States IRS and Fairfax County Department of Tax Administration guidelines.

The permit must be renewed each year. The requirements to renew your permit each year include:

  • A new Home Health and Safety Visit.
  • An annual Fire Safety Inspection Visit.
  • Ensuring all permit requirements remain current, such as CPR, First Aid, Criminal and CPS Background Checks and TB screenings.
  • 16 hours of professional development annually.

Back to top

Loading...
Ask Fairfax Virtual Assistant