Online Services

Our Government

News and Events

Maps, Facts & Stats

State & Federal

Park Authority Board

Park Authority Board

Board Agenda and Package

The Fairfax County Park Authority Board is appointed by the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors. These 12 appointees are comprised of one representative from each of the nine magisterial districts, plus three at-large members. The board sets policy and establishes priorities for the park agency. The board holds public meetings on the second and fourth Wednesdays of the month at 7:30 p.m. at park headquarters in the Herrity Building, adjacent the Government Center Complex.

Park Authority Board Elects 2017 Officers

The Fairfax County Park Authority Board has a new slate of officers for 2017. At a meeting on February 8, 2017, the Park Board voted to return William G. Bouie, who represents the Hunter Mill District, to his ninth term as Chairman. At-large Member Mary D. Cortina will serve as Vice Chairman. Michael Thompson Jr., Park Board Representative of the Springfield District returns to the post of Secretary, and Mount Vernon District Representative Linwood Gorham will now serve as Treasurer.

Chairman Bouie joined the Park Authority in 2005 and is currently the President and CEO of Sky Communications Inc. He is an active volunteer involved in a myriad of civic ventures and organizations. Service highlights include a leadership position with Little League Baseball of Northern Virginia; positions on the board of Wolf Trap Center for the Performing Arts; Public Links, Inc.; the Reston Community Center Board of Governors; Reston Hospital Center Board of Trustees; and the Initiative for Public Art Reston (IPAR).

Vice Chairman Cortina was appointed to the Park Board in 2013 by Fairfax County Board of Supervisors Chairman Sharon Bulova. The long-time resident of Fairfax County has worked as an information technology executive and engaged community volunteer who has held numerous leadership positions on board committees. (Mary Cortina recently resigned from the Park Board to accept a position on the Planning Commission.)

Secretary Thompson was appointed to the Fairfax County Park Authority Board in 2012. He is the senior vice president of a local public relations firm and serves as president of Burke Athletic Club, as well as an appointee to the Fairfax County Public School’s Marketing Advisory Board.

Treasurer Gorham joined the board in 2011 and has been active on numerous committees and in committee leadership positions, as well as serving as liaison to the Northern Virginia Regional Park Authority. He is a lifelong resident of Fairfax County who has been an important part of community events, such as parades and festivals, and has been active in local civic organizations.


Vice Chair: Ken Quincy
Members: Walter Alcorn, Maggie Godbold, Mike Thompson
Staff: Sara Baldwin

Administration, and Board Management

Chairman: Faisal Khan
Vice Chair: Maggie Godbold
Members: Ron Kendall, Cynthia Jacobs Carter, Ken Quincy
Staff: Sara Baldwin

Diversity and Succession Committee

Chairman: Faisal Khan
Vice Chair: Linwood Gorham
Members: Maggie Godbold, Tim Hackmani
Staff: Diane Roteman

Park Authority Awards Committee

Chairman: TBD
Vice Chair: Maggie Godbold
Members: Faisal Khan, Ron Kendall, Cynthia Jacobs Carter
Staff: Judy Pedersen

Executive Committee

Chairman: Bill Bouie
Vice Chair:
Secretary: Mike Thompson
Treasurer: Linwood Gorham
Staff: Sara Baldwin

Funding Policy and Bond Committee

Chairman: Ken Quincy
Vice Chair: Mike Thompson
Members: Walter Alcorn
Staff: Sara Baldwin

Park Operations Committee

Chairman: Linwood Gorham
Vice Chair: Mike Thompson
Members: Tim Hackman, Faisal Khan
Staff: Todd Brown

Park Services and Golf Committee

Chairman: Mike Thompson
Vice Chair: Walter Alcorn
Members: Linwood Gorham, Ron Kendall, Cynthia Jacobs Carter
Staff: Barbara Nugent or Todd Johnson

Planning and Development Committee

Chairman: Ken Quincy
Vice Chair: Mike Thompson
Members: Linwood Gorham, Ron Kendall, Walter Alcorn
Staff: Dave Bowden

Resource Management Committee

Chairman: Maggie Godbold
Vice Chair: Linwood Gorham
Members: Tim Hackman
Staff: Cindy Walsh

Strategic Planning and Initiatives Committee

Vice Chair: Walter Alcorn
Members: Maggie Godbold, Tim Hackman
Staff: Sara Baldwin


FCPAFairfax County
Park Authority Mission Statement

To set aside public spaces for and assist citizens in the protection and enhancement of environmental values, diversity of natural habitats and cultural heritage to guarantee that these resources will be available to both present and future generations.  To create and sustain quality facilities and services which offer citizens opportunities for recreation, improvement of their physical and mental well being, and enhancement of their quality of life.

FCPAFairfax County
Park Authority Vision

The Fairfax County Park Authority strives to inspire and sustain a passion for parks and leisure experiences that enhances our community’s quality of life.

Bylaws Governing the Fairfax County Park Authority

FCPAFairfax County
Park Authority Values

These values describe the essence of our organization:

  • Enhancing Stewardship: We are stewards for a wonderfully rich community trust of natural and cultural resources.  We will provide leadership to expand awareness, appreciation and protection of this heritage.
  • Fostering Diversity: We embrace the diversity of our community and seek to provide every resident with a wide variety of park experiences and recreational opportunities.
  • Developing Partnerships: We believe seeking and maintaining active partnerships with neighborhood and community organizations and individuals are essential to becoming a vital and treasured component of the communities we serve.
  • Providing Quality and Value: We are committed to providing high quality facilities and services that offer superior value and prompt efficient service to our customers and the community.
  • Communicating Effectively: We strive for productive two-way communication with residents and our staff to allow all to participate fully in creating quality parks and services.
  • Valuing Our Workforce: We believe our paid and volunteer staff is the key ingredient to our success and commit to creating a participative, team-oriented organization including career development opportunities and meaningful recognition.
  • Demonstrating Fiscal Responsibility: We are committed to building and preserving a park system that meets the community’s needs in a cost effective, fiscally responsible manner.

FCPAFairfax County
Park Authority Board Members
and Board of Supervisors

Park Authority Board and Board of Supervisor members are listed in alphabetical order after the officers.

Asterisk indicates a member served a partial year.  

Park Authority Board Board of Supervisors
William G. Bouie, Chairman Sharon Bulova, Chairman
Mary Cortina*, Vice Chair Penelope A. Gross, Vice Chair
Michael W. Thompson, Jr., Secretary John C. Cook
Linwood Gorham, Treasurer John W. Foust
Walter Alcorn Pat Herrity
Cynthia Jacobs Carter Catherine M. Hudgins
Marguerite F. Godbold Jeff C. McKay
Tim Hackman Kathy L. Smith
Faisal Khan Linda Q. Smyth
Ronald Kendall* Daniel G. Storck
Ken Quincy  
Frank S. Vajda*  
Anthony J. Vellucci**  
Park Directors
Sara Baldwin, Acting Director (as of Sept);
Kirk Kincannon, Director

Contact Fairfax County: Phone, Email or Twitter | Main Address: 12000 Government Center Parkway, Fairfax, VA 22035
Technical Questions: Web Administrator

ADA Accessibility | Website Accessibility
Awards | FOIA | Mobile | Using this Site | Web Disclaimer & Privacy Policy | Get Adobe Reader
Official site of the County of Fairfax, Virginia, © Copyright 2015

Website Feedback Website Feedback    Globe with various flags representing Web site language translations   Language Translations

Alert Logo   New Website Coming Soon--Check Out a Preview!
Return to Graphic Version