Public Works and Environmental Services

Fairfax County, Virginia

CONTACT INFORMATION: Our administrative offices are open to the public by appointment only at this time. Please call or email 8 a.m. - 4 p.m., Mon. - Fri. The permit office is open to the public with or without appointment 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., Mon. - Fri.

703-324-5230
TTY 711

12000 Government Center Parkway
Suite 448, Fairfax, Va 22035

John Kellas,
Deputy Director, Solid Waste Management

Solid Waste Commercial Disposal Rates Schedule

Permit Office OPEN

The Solid Waste Management Program Permit Office is OPEN to visitors Mon. - Fri. 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. Be prepared to wear a mask and practice social distancing. Submissions may be made by email to DPWESSWMPLISI-66PermitOffice@fairfaxcounty.gov.

Effective: July 2020 - June 2021

Facility Hours

The tipping fee for solid waste at the I-95 Landfill Complex, I-95 Energy/Resource Recovery Facility and I-66 Transfer Station Complex will be $68 per ton during Fiscal Year 2021 (July 2020 - June 2021).  All fees are subject to change depending upon conditions/regulations. Failure to comply with the County Code or facility rules and regulations may result in a penalty fee of $100.00 per ton. For any other questions, please call 703-324-5230, TTY 711.

Commercial Cash Customers

Commercial Cash customers are not required to post a bond with the county and payment is made at the time of disposal using either cash, check or MasterCard/Visa.

NOTE: There will be a $17 minimum charge for all materials except C&D for all small loads, a $20 minimum charge for C&D for all small loads, a $34 minimum charge for all medium loads and a $68 minimum charge for all large loads delivered to the facility.

Collection Companies (Permits 56, 57)

This section applies to collection companies with a Certificate to Operate as well as Disposal Companies. Permitted collection and disposal companies have a bond with the county and are invoiced monthly for disposal charges. 

* The Solid Waste Management program has lowered the cost for disposal of Municipal Solid Waste for all customers to $64.00 per ton during Fiscal Year 2021.

Commercial Haulers: There will be a $17 minimum charge for all small loads, a $34 minimum charge for all medium loads and a $68 minimum charge for all large loads delivered to the facility.

Please note that disposal companies may use other permitted brush and yard waste processing facilities to handle your brush and yard waste. However, if other sites are used, monthly invoices cannot be processed through your Fairfax account.

Tire Disposal Companies

Fairfax County currently participates in the Virginia End User Tire Program. Tire disposal categories and rates are as follows:

To be eligible for the End User Program, tire generators and disposers must complete a Commonwealth of Virginia Waste Tire Certification Form (available from the county scale facility personnel or Virginia Department of Environmental Quality).

See Also:

Fairfax County Commercial Disposal Rate Changes for FY 2021

Fairfax Virtual Assistant