Board of Zoning Appeals

Fairfax County, Virginia

CONTACT INFORMATION: Open during regular business hours 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., Monday - Friday

TTY 711

12055 Government Center Pkwy, Suite 801
Fairfax, VA 22035

Lorraine Giovinazzo,
Clerk to the Board of Zoning Appeals

Board of Zoning Appeals Members

The BZA consists of seven (7) members appointed by the Circuit Court for staggered terms of five years. All members of the BZA are private citizens and must be residents of Fairfax County. They serve only as a Board and not as County employees and, as such, do not have County office space nor are they available by telephone in the County government.

John F. Ribble, III


Term Expires: 6/13/2024

Appointed: 6/14/1982




Paul W. Hammack, Jr.

Vice Chairman

Term Expires: 6/13/2020

Appointed: 6/14/1982




Karen L. Day


Term Expires: 2/15/2025

Appointed: 6/20/2018




Max Beard

Term Expires: 2/18/2021

Appointed: 6/30/2003





James R. Hart

Term Expires: 2/20/2024

Appointed: 1/4/2000





Thomas W. Smith, III

Term Expires: 4/9/2022

Appointed: 4/10/2007





John C. Cowherd

Term Expires: 4/15/2023

Appointed: 6/26/2019






Fairfax Virtual Assistant