Park Authority

Fairfax County, Virginia

CONTACT INFORMATION: Open during regular business hours 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m., Monday - Friday

TTY 711

12055 Government Center Pkwy.
Fairfax, Virginia 22035

Jai Cole,
Executive Director

Elly Doyle Awards



There are thousands of individuals and many organizations which volunteer each year in local parks and support the many programs and initiatives of the Fairfax County Park Authority. In fact, it would be difficult, if not impossible, to operate our park system without volunteers. Making sure that their service is recognized is very important.

Nominations are now closed for the 2021 Elly Doyle Park Service Awards. Thank you to all who nominated our wonderful park volunteers. Volunteers power our parks! Award recipients will be honored virtually in November 2021.

The Elly Doyle Park Service Awards were established in 1988 and recognize Ellamae Doyle's many years of service and accomplishments as a member and chairman of the Park Authority Board. The County's park system expanded and thrived during her tenure with the addition of significant open space, construction of new recreational facilities and a commitment to preservation of natural and cultural resources in Fairfax County.

The Harold L. Strickland Partnership and Collaboration Award honors the retired Park Board member’s long service and significant contributions to the Park Authority. This award recognizes teamwork and cooperation necessary to provide state-of-the-art facilities in our Fairfax County Parks. 

The Mayo Stuntz Cultural Stewardship Award honors historian, volunteer and acclaimed author Mayo S. Stuntz, and recognizes contributions to our cultural preservation efforts.  

The Sally Ormsby Environmental Stewardship Award recognizes Sally B. Ormsby’s many years of service as a citizen steward and honors others who help preserve and educate about local natural resources and the importance of the environment.  

Anyone may submit an application to nominate a volunteer for one of these awards. The awards are open to those who have made outstanding service contributions over the past year. A service contribution is the giving of time or expertise to the Fairfax County Park Authority for the advancement of recreational and/or educational opportunities or the protection of natural, cultural or historic resources in Fairfax County. An individual or organization may receive only one Elly Doyle Award. Recipients will be honored in the fall.

View Past Award Winners

For more information, contact the Public Information Office at 703-324-8662 or via

Check out the tabs below for a look at our 2020 Virtual Elly Doyle Park Service Awards Ceremony held on November 20, 2020, honoring the individuals and organizations who give to Fairfax parks.

2020 Awardees

Harold L. Strickland Partnership and Collaboration Award

  • The Meridian Group

Sally B. Ormsby Environmental Stewardship Award

  • Catherine C. Ledec

2020 Outstanding Volunteer Awards

  • Debbie Berry
  • Ronald "Ronnie" Billodeaux
  • Roberta Bucher
  • Allison Carnathan
  • Lisa Dickenson
  • Bob Dinse
  • Sara Holtz
  • Karen Hunter
  • Mary Alice Huybrechts
  • Janet Jaeger
  • Richard Langguth
  • Lina Le Faucheur
  • Johnny T. Lopez
  • Ron Pickett
  • Peggy Plunkett
  • Savannah Purdy
  • Robert "Tim" Schnoor
  • Tony L. Williams
  • Justinian "Juss" Wright

Eakin Philanthropy Awards

  • Dominion Energy
  • The Hwang Family
  • Trinity Centre 
  • I-66 Express Mobility Partners
  • Friends of Riverbend Park

Elly Doyle Park Service Awards

Youth Award

  • Joshua Morrisson

Special Recognition Awards

  • Birds and Bees Engineers
  • Jane Gamble
  • Sara A. Holtz
  • Jean Ann Linney
  • Elarbi Taouil
  • Tony L. Williams

Elly Doyle Park Service Awards

  • Kathleen J. O'Hara
  • Leslie Painter
  • Carolyn Banks Summers
Fairfax Virtual Assistant