Circuit Court

Fairfax County, Virginia

CONTACT INFORMATION: Our office is open 8AM-4PM Monday-Friday

4110 Chain Bridge Road
Fairfax, VA 22030

John T. Frey,
Clerk of the Court

Department Resources

Related Resources

More about Circuit Court

Search Circuit Court

Circuit Court Jurisdiction

The authority of the Circuit Court is as follows:

Civil Actions 

In civil cases, the Circuit Court has concurrent jurisdiction with the General District Court over claims from $4,500 to $25,000 and exclusive original jurisdiction over monetary claims exceeding $25,000. The Circuit Court also has jurisdiction over other matters, including: attachments, adoptions, divorce proceedings, disputes concerning wills, trusts and estates, and controversies involving property.
Visit our Civil Case Info. page for more information.

Criminal Cases 

In criminal cases, the Circuit Court has jurisdiction over the trial of all felonies (offenses that may be punished by imprisonment of more than one year) and of those misdemeanors (offenses carrying a penalty of not more than twelve months in jail) that were appealed from district court or a grand jury indictment. The Circuit Court also has jurisdiction over juveniles who are charged with felonies and whose cases have been transferred or certified by the judge of a Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Court for trial in Circuit Court.
Visit our Criminal Case Info. Page for more information.

Appellate Jurisdiction 

The Circuit Court has appellate jurisdiction over appeals from General District Court and Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Court. Appeals from these district courts are heard de novo; that is, the cases are tried from the beginning as though there had been no prior trial. The parties have the right to a jury trial in the Circuit Court.
The Circuit Court's appellate jurisdiction also extends to appeals from certain administrative agencies.
Visit our Appeals page for more information.

Jury Duty 

Potential Jurors are randomly selected from voter registration lists. The selection method is designed to produce a cross section of the community. Approximately 55,000 prospective Jurors are randomly selected each year to receive a Juror Questionnaire. When these Questionnaires are returned to the court, they are reviewed by jury commissioners to determine which citizens are qualified to serve as Jurors. These names make up the master jury list for the year. Men and women, 18 years of age and over and from all walks of life, have an equal opportunity to be called for jury service. Visit our Jury page for more information.

Land Records 

The Land Records department accepts documents from property transactions in Fairfax County and the City of Fairfax. Transactions involving property located within the City of Falls Church must be recorded with the Arlington County Circuit Court. Real property transactions involving property located in the City of Alexandria must be recorded with the Alexandria Circuit Court. All document types can be submitted over-the-counter and certain document types can be submitted electronically via the Court's Electronic Filing System (EFS).
Visit our Land Records page for more information.

Clerk of Circuit Court

  • John T. Frey - Clerk of Circuit Court
  • Gerarda Culipher - Chief Deputy Clerk

Circuit Court Calendar


Information you may be interested in ...

In order to view PDF files, you must have Adobe Acrobat Reader installed on your computer.