
The Fairfax County Park Authority is offering visitors two free ways to explore local history this fall as part of Fairfax250, the county’s commemoration of America’s 250th anniversary.
The September Sundays Free Tour Series brings guided programs to seven historic sites on Sept. 6, 13, 20 and 27, while the Fairfax250 Adventure Patch offers a self-guided experience that visitors can complete on their own schedule.
September Sunday tours will be offered at Colvin Run Mill, Ellanor C. Lawrence Park, Green Spring Gardens, Historic Huntley and Sully Historic Site. The series also includes tours of two buildings that are not typically open for regular public tours: the Spindle Sears House, a Sears, Roebuck & Company kit home built in 1935 in Historic Centreville; and the more-than-200-year-old Frying Pan Spring Meeting House at Frying Pan Farm Park.
Each stop reveals a different piece of Fairfax County history. Visitors can experience working mills, historic homes and gardens, archaeology and farm life, and hear stories of freedom seekers and others whose lives connect Fairfax County to the nation’s larger story.
The tours are free, but space is limited and advance registration is required.
The Fairfax250 Adventure Patch offers another way to explore the county’s history. Visitors can complete six activities at their own pace, following three themes: Learning, Sharing and Doing. Complete the challenge and earn a commemorative Fairfax250 patch.
Fairfax County Park Authority historic sites also offer tours and programs throughout the year, giving visitors even more opportunities to explore the county’s cultural heritage beyond the Fairfax250 celebration.
The September Sundays Free Tour Series and Fairfax250 Adventure Patch are sponsored by the Fairfax250 Commission.
Learn more, register for September Sundays and get started on the Fairfax250 Adventure Patch by visiting the Fairfax250 webpage.