Families occupied and adapted the Green Spring landscape and buildings from the late 1700s until the mid-20th century. Today visitors can walk among the gardens, view changing art exhibits, enjoy tea with a tour or program, and shop in the unique museum shop.
Green Spring was donated to Fairfax County in 1970 by Michael and Belinda Straight. The Straights purchased the property in 1942 and made several modifications to the 1784 historic house and accompanying gardens. The landscape around the Straight home was that of a "gentleman farmer" and was used primarily for entertaining. Designed by Beatrix Farrand, the gardens included boxwood hedging, roses, and perennial borders.
12000 Government Center Pkwy
Fairfax, VA 22035